We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“private island -- peaceful experience - do it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Heaven Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Heaven Island to your Saves list
Blue Heaven Island
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Motu Paahi Faanui, French Polynesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Bora Bora
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“private island -- peaceful experience - do it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our first time to Bora Bora We spent 4 nights at this peaceful retreat February 2012. Elie and Monique allow an experience that you create. We discovered the location right here on the web and tripadviser . All the reviews are correct ... except the mosquitoes -- not much anywhere --but we are Canadians. Be aware of the falling coconuts - if you seen the movie cast away you will know what we mean. Just it do it you will have a jamm'n time ..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    15
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
54
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drammen, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We travelled for 75 days around the world, and found this place very special. Fresh fish from the fisherman to be served. Elie and Monique was very friendly, and they showed us places to go snorkling near the reef. Beautiful evenings in quiet surroundings. If you like to be for yourself some days, this is the place. We stayed for 3 nights, and travelled to Easter Island and Peru afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Me and my boyfriend spent 4 nights at Elie's Blue Heaven Island. Elie is such an outgoing character and he'll sure make you laugh during lunch and dinner by telling some interesting stories about his life. The bungalows are in the garden and you walk maximum 10-20m and you are by the shore. This motu doesn't really have the white sandy beaches, but instead incredible corall life which is great if you love to snorkel. We had great food that Elie cooked each night (chicken, lagoon fish and beef)- it wasn't local, but we enjoyed that since we'd had so much seafood already (been to other islands 18 days).

The only negative this about this place is the mosquitoes. This is however very common in French Polynesia and Elie seems to be doing everything that he can to decrease the amount of mosquitoes surrounding the bungalows and kitchen.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We were on our honeymoon and had just spent five blissful, luxe nights at the St Regis Bora Bora (see my previous review) and due to the Air Tahiti flight schedule, had to spend one more night in Bora Bora before we could leave for Rangiora. I found Blue Heaven Island in our Lonely Planet: Polynesia book and rang them up. Elie was accomodating enough to take us for one night. I wasn't sure who to look for at the airport but I knew who he was when I saw him! Elie is a fabulous host and we had a wonderful time! Blue Heaven Island is about a ten minute boat ride from the airport and is very rustic but also quite fabulous. The Island is situated on some of the best snorkeling in Bora Bora, not far from the ocean side of the motu. My husband spent hours in the lagoon snorkeling and we spent some time walking around to the ocean side and picking up coral. There are about five beach bungalows and a main outdoor living / dining room area and a kitchen. The whole island is green and eco-friendly.

Elie was such a fantastic host and has done such an amazing job with the island - he even built a little coral garden for the baby fishies! He was going into town and even made a stop at the pharmacy for us while he was in town. He made us an excellent dinner of lagoon fish (who knew you could eat those guys?) and was fantastic company. I feel very grateful to have seen all sides of Bora Bora, not just the luxury side (though, also fantastic) and hope to see Elie and his island again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Blue Heaven Island is the dream vacation for the ones who love nature, relaxation and water.
When we choose this place we did not know what to expect, but as soon as Elie smiled at us in the airport we knew everything will be OK. And it was. Blue Heaven Island has 5 bungalows (made entirely with local materials) placed in a superb coconut tree forest. The place is situated on a island close to the ocean. On this island used to be Paradise resort which no longer exists due to the fact that the people who run the place retired. This means that on the island it will be you, Elie, Monique and some other tourists from the other bungalows. In our case we stayed 10 days from which 5 days we were only us and Elie&Monique. The place realy makes you feel like Robinson Crusoe.
There are several advantages if one is choose this resort. First of all, because of the fact that this is a family resort you will enjoy a total different kind of attention, second of all the resort is placed on a part of Bora full with coral, were tourists from other resorts pay a lot of money to come there and enjoy the ocean and snorkel, and third of all there is ELIE who will realy teach you how to enjoy the place and life in general (he will also teach you how to play the drums).
Now it is very important to understand that Blue Heaven Island is a family resort that sustains itself entierly on renewable energy (solar panels for hot water, photovoltaic panels for electricity, rainwater collection, etc.). For people who enjoy luxuary and like to be spoiled you have to know this things. Also people have to understand that you are on a tropical island so you have to expect some mosquitos and gekos. We were one time at Le Meridien resort and we got bit by mosquitos also, so, this is nature and you have to be a prepared for it.
Go to Blue Heaven Island and it will be once in a life time experience and you wont regret it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Curious and maybe a little anxious we were after spending the first four days of our vacation at the Sofitel, Moorea, but when Elie came to pick us up at the airport, white clothes, big beard, we already believed we made the right, at least an interesting, choice to come to Blue Heaven Island with our one-year-old. The four days we spent there were an experience we will never forget. The really nice dinners were a relief after the food that was served at the Sofitel and the interesting conversations during these dinners with Monique and Elie made our stay on there Motu special. The beautiful surroundings of course also helped ;-). One advice at last: use anti-mosquito spray before you enter the kitchen, we didn't and that was a shame..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

If you are looking for a luxurious hotel with a view of the mainland peak, this is not the place for you. Rather, this B & B is for those who want to relax, chill out and enjoy the great atmosphere. The young French couple who manage the place are warm and friendly. They'll help you in any way they can and make you feel at home, as will their pets.
The bungalows are spacious and comfortable. Breakfast and dinner are compulsory, but worth every penny as the food is plentiful and delicious. You will find either loads or nothing to do, depending on what you are looking for. They provide kayaks for those who want to paddle over to a neighboring motu (island) or into the main lagoon to gasp at the beautiful mainland peak and crystal clear water. You can go diving with a nearby company that will pick you up and drop you off. The diving is pretty nice, but nothing in comparison to Rangiroa or Fakarava. You can snorkle and swim right in front of the B & B or just relax on the beach. There is also an inviting dock with lounge chairs where you can sit back and enjoy the landscape or a good read. I highly recommend going on a boat tour of the lagoon with their local neighbour. He's the ex-mayor, a school teacher and very informative.
Basically, it's the perfect place to chill out and unwind.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Heaven Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heaven Island

Address: Motu Paahi Faanui, French Polynesia
Location: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Bora Bora
Amenities:
Beach Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Bora Bora
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Heaven Island 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest quarters are tucked away between Palm trees. Every room on the island is just steps away from the beach. Each quarter is the essence of simple island living. The cozy bungalows are made of indigenous bamboo and equipped with all the amenities for a comfortable stay, including private bathrooms, large closets, and ceiling fans. Our installation run on solar energy (photovoltaic roofs and solar water-heater) and the water system is feed with a well and rain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Venere and Booking.com so you can book your Blue Heaven Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heaven Island Hotel Bora Bora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Heaven Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.