We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lagoon Restaurant by Jean-Georges

Lagoon Restaurant by Jean-Georges
@ St. Regis Hotel, French Polynesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 36 restaurants in Bora Bora
Cuisines: Polynesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Frederick
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Sit outside. The view is great. Sunset at this restaurant is awesome. The menu is excellent with great, fresh, local fish, as is the case throughout the South Pacific, but the preparation sets this one apart. Every course was great and the service remarkable. Even a stop for a drink is worth the trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    67
    19
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exceptional Vistas, Service, and Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We stayed at the St Regis resort and had dinners in each of their restaurants, but Lagoon is by far the best (which wasn't a surprise!). The service was exceptional and the food was very upscale and delicious. A newly married couple was eating near us and had a musician playing a ukelele which made for great, subtle entertainment. You'll definitely want to ask for a table on the deck. Ours was on the higher tier which made for great views but also let us look through the glass floor to see the sharks and fish swimming underneath.

This is one of those restaurant experiences where you just indulge and sign the check blindly!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Desert, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food/Great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

The food and service were exceptional. Get an outside table. Get there at sunset...it's pretty cool as the sun sets behind Bora Bora and the stars come out against the black Polynesian night sky. Prepare to have a memorable dining experience. ...as to the cost?...feh!...you've already spent a ton to get here...don't even bother checking the prices...the memory will last forever!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great meal, fun ambiance!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We ate at Lagoon in June 2013 while visiting Bora Bora on our honeymoon. We chose the tasting menu and enjoyed every bite. The rice cracker crusted tuna was to die for... I dreamed about it for days after!! We enjoyed each course and everything was well prepared and plated. I was also completely mesmerized by the glass floor and spent a lot of time staring at the sharks and fish that swam below us while we ate. A fun experience and excellent food. As is the custom in Bora Bora, be prepared to pay $$$$ for the meal, but it's well worth it here!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Better something else”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

That was my first experience in a restaurant proudly caring brand name Chef Jean-Georges. And unfortunately the last. First of all, I think that this strategy of giving to potential customers misleading information "sorry, we are fully booked tonight but tomorrow there is one table left" is already outdated way to create demand. But anyway it still exists in Lagoon. No need to say that afterwards we realized that it was almost empty. Now to the food. On a website is said : "you will find an exceptional French- and Asian-influenced menu crafted by Chef Jean-Georges to showcase the freshest fish and ingredients indigenous to the islands". The only true statement would be probably that it is Asian influenced. But I should say that "his love for the exotic and aromatic flavors of the East" does not showcase but kills the taste of "the freshest fish or whatever main indigenous to the islands ingredients" . Ginger and fennel come in such abundance that you literally feel nothing else and start thinking if it was used for some sanitary reasons. And overall, I found more of mismatch in components in many dishes then their complementarity. Well , in my subjective opinion, there are much nicer places in French Polynesia which would truly showcase local cuisine without trying to reach "haute cuisine" level and for gastronomic experiences we still always have traditional gourmet routes.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lagoon Restaurant by Jean-Georges also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
Vaitape, Bora Bora
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Lagoon Restaurant by Jean-Georges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lagoon Restaurant by Jean-Georges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.