We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality/Ambiance/Great Food/Good Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bora Kaina Hut - CLOSED

Bora Kaina Hut
Main Island - north of Hotel Bora Bora, French Polynesia
0689 675 406
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Titaua and Laurent are pleased to welcome you to Kaina Hut and invite you to discover more about their gourmet restaurant and slate.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hospitality/Ambiance/Great Food/Good Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Starting from a warm personal welcome from hostess Titaua and ending with a post dessert greeting from her Corsican chef husband, Laurent, the personal connection with Kaina is ever-present and completely memorable. For ambiance, imagine a high gabled, open-air thatched roof hut, sand between the toes, mother-of-pearl ornamentation, comfortable seats and floral bouquets - the only enhancement would be location directly on the beach (which is only across the street). Food was superb start to finish - largely French/Continental inspired - but with a perfect Polynesian flair/overlay. Presentation was lovely, ingredients high quality and taste absolutely delicious. Value was among the best in the islands at ~$60pp including shared apps, cocktails and plenty of high quality French wine and desert. All things considered, the Bora Kaina Hut was the best dining experience for the money during our 8 day stay that included some of the finer establishments in French Polynesia. This young couple, who took the risk, signed a lease and reopened the restaurant in Oct 2012, deserves the whole-hearted support of international and local foodies and romantics. Don't miss this one.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    31
    7
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hudson, WI
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“slice of bora bora culinary heaven!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

we LOVED our dining experience at the Bora Kaina Hut. LOVELY couple that own the restaurant and the setting was delightful {think bloody mary's...but more upscale!} and the bruchetta was amazing! and my husband's prime rib was the largest cut of meat we've ever seen! delish! please go....really and truly, you will not be sad you did!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Misawa, Japan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Whoa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I went to Bora Kaina Hut this evening with my wife and we thoroughly enjoyed the entire experience. From top-to-bottom the Bora Kaina Hut is a fantastic restaurant. We showed up to the restaurant right around sunset and had a seat at the bar for a few drinks. The Chef offered us a bottle of mosquito-repellent to keep the mosquitos at bay which is far above and beyond "normal" service.
We sat down to eat impressed with their service and generosity and the impression only got better with the food. For an appetizer we had the tomato & bacon bruschetta which was the best bruschetta I have ever tasted. Then, I ordered a seared tuna steak for my meal and my wife had a chicken cooked in prunes and almonds. It was delicious! Then we ordered the chocolate souffle for dessert and my wife nearly chopped my hand off because she wanted to eat the entire thing herself. Overall, it was an outstanding meal and some great service from a fantastic little restaurant.
We ate at Bloody Marys last night and to be honest if you knew nothing about either restaurant and you were to judge based on food and service alone, we'd choose Bora Kaina Hut without question. I don't mean to say Bloody Marys is sub-par. It's not. You'll have a good meal and good service there for sure. Boar Kaina Hut beats it. Hands down.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Kaina Hut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We were immediately made to feel welcome. The food was excellent, so good in fact we tried to go back but were unable to get in on shorter notice because of the holidays. The food was creative and very well done.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tres Fantastique!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Less a meal in a restaurant and more an intimate dinner with friends! Titaua was the perfect hostess from start to finish..warm and welcoming, offering a detailed explanation of the menu, and delivering friendly service throughout the evening. Laurent worked the kitchen with equal skill. His choices of entrees were expertly prepared with the utmost care (he even came out to confirm our specific tastes while in the midst of cooking). The food and ambiance were so enjoyable we changed plans to return a second time for our last night on the island. Different menu (offerings change daily) but the experience was equally good. Far better than the resort food (and cheaper, more cozy, less crowded, etc.), the restaurant is worth the trip, you won't be disappointed. We were there the week after they opened and they were already fantastic, probably even better now.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bora Kaina Hut also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bora Kaina Hut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.