We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very meh..... average and mediocre food and slow service...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tamure Grill

Tamure Grill
Bora Bora Nui Resort, French Polynesia
689 603 300
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 40 Restaurants in Bora Bora
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
696 reviews 696 reviews
415 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
1,390 helpful votes 1,390 helpful votes
“Very meh..... average and mediocre food and slow service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have to agree with the other posters. The food here was nothing to write home about. Not that it was horrible but just blah. We actually came to the Hilton for a photo shoot with a professional photographer. We finished and wanted to have lunch here and it was funny because at first the hotel said we couldn't as we weren't staying here. (We were staying at the Le Meridien).

Our photographer asked the manager and they finally allowed us. They tried to say it was booked solid. Funny as we went over and the place was practically empty! It's nice as the decor is nice and the floor is all sand from the beach. Very casual place.

I had the fish with chips that were ok. A bit greasy. My wife got the Mahi Mahi and it was very very undercooked. She asked them to cook it some more. (She only took one bite). I have to give them credit as they didn't just take the same dish and recook it but they made her an entirely new plate. It did take some time however.

I thought the service was ok....a bit slow considering that not many people were here. I wasn't too impressed with the hotel and were VERY happy that we were staying at the Le Meridien instead. The beaches weren't that nice compared to the LM and the water clarity wasn't nearly as good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    22
    22
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bad food, worse service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The ambiance was great with your feet in the sand while you eat (inside or outside), but the food was not great...with exception of the desserts which were amazing. The service was absolutely appalling! We ordered drinks every night and twice they never came, even after we asked for them a few times. Another night they came after our dessert!! Um, when you are paying that much for a drink, you'd love it with your meal.

Also, when we found a big hair in our pina colada and asked politely if we might get a new one. They were rude and unapologetic. It's not like we had taken more than one sip, before we found it...

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Average food, average service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Compared to the breakfast buffet at the Hilton Moorea, this buffet was sub-par. Compared to the horrible service in the other restaurants at the Hilton Bora Bora, the breakfast buffet was superb because I served my own food. The omelet gal is fabulous.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try the pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Yes I said try the pizza! Drink the beer, the cocktails are weak!
The breakfast buffet served here daily is UNBELIEVABLE!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Mediocre at best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

If you spend time at the Hilton Bora Bora Nui Resort, you'll probably have to eat at least 90% of your meals here -- breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The menu doesn't change much, if at all, except for the one special buffet dinner each week. It is extremely expensive for what you get, and the service can be very, very slow. But you're discouraged from leaving the resort to dine because of the high shuttle boat fare and limited schedule.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamure Grill also viewed

Bora Bora, Society Islands
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 
Bora Bora, Society Islands
Bora Bora, Society Islands
 

Been to Tamure Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamure Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.