We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful lodge with view of Denali!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites
Save
You added Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites to your Saves list
22647 S Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
ATV Tours!!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Flemington, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful lodge with view of Denali!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Loved the quilts, decor, kitchen sink AND bathroom sink, fridge, fluffy towels, comfy beds (even the pullout couch was way above par) and the personalized attention we received while staying here in July. Alisha helped make arrangements for our activities and would write things of interest to see on our map. She really could not have been more helpful to us. It truly is a beautiful place to stay. We were able to walk into town every day and come back to a quiet, homey retreat. I would recommend this lodge to anyone ---there were no negatives (and my family of five is kind of fussy).

Room Tip: We stayed in units 2 and 3 and could see the mountain from our front porch (which had a glider bench...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    31
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
119
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A rainy, depressing day here when we arrived, but Denali Fireside staff came to pick us up at the big lodge where our bus from Anchorage stopped, since they were a mile plus down the hill.

Then we stepped into our cabin with a cute porch and flowers all around!
Spanking clean, shiny wood floors, beautiful Alaskan quilts on the beds, crossed snowshoes, moose prints on the walls, with table, chairs by the window and gas stove fireplace. Add in the sink, frig and spotless shower, we suddenly did not care that it was raining!
What a cozy, charming place to spend our day in Talkeetna!

Then later, even though we had checked out, the owners of Denali Fireside Cabins took us and our luggage back up the hill to the big lodge to catch out late bus! (I donated $10 to the"kitty" - the owner was pleased to receive it)

We would take this place over any other big lodge/hotel in the area - so close to town and all restaurants/ shops - even though all our plans went out the window with weather, we had a wonderful stay here in the rain!

We will come back!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Haven, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

My 2nd 5 star review of Denali Fireside.

Beautiful, spacious suite that accommodated 4 adults for a 3 night stay over 4th of July.

Top quality linens, very clean bathroom, very nice mini fridge. 2 sinks.

The owners are very particular in making all guests have a great experience. No smoking in cabins, shoes outside, no coolers or fish cleaning in the cabins. These small details keep the rooms spotless.

Manager was very nice/helpful. VERY QUIET yet within a 3 minute walk to downtown Talkeetna.

Will stay again. Thank you, Denali Fireside!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

Our family of five just left the cabin and we were super happy. There was room for all of us to sleep, and a beautiful cabin in woods. You are right next to a stream and have your own spot for a fire outside. Very cozy and off the main road a bit. Made day trip to Denali from here - was a bit long but doable. Great town to stay in.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife and I and two other senior couples stayed at Denali Fireside for 2 nights last month. Within walking distance of downtown Talkeetna, our three cabins were large and immaculate, each with an excellent heating system, kitchenette and very nice bathroom. The cabins looked brand new to us--beautiful hardwood floors and lovely furniture and appointments. The beds were very comfortable. Alisha, the manager, was friendly and helpful throughout our stay; she gave us a tour of the facility when we checked in, answering our questions and gave us perfect restaurant and activity recommendations. A delightful lady. The owners, Don and Mavis were also very friendly and helpful, with Don loaning us a can of bear spray for our hike. We never used it, but it was nice to have. Our visit to the lovely town of Talkeetna was enhanced by our staying there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I kind of hate to share this one. If it becomes too popular I won't be able to get back in and the rate will go up.
It is a great place. Super clean room, very big room with newer furnishings, refrig, coffee maker, big TV. Camp fire out back, and a swing on the front porch. I forgot the general managers name, but she is a super nice lady and gave us some good dinner and breakfast recommendations. I paid $177 a night. There is a train right behind the cabins and it blows the whistle around 11 pm, but anywhere you stay in town you will here the train.

Room Tip: Bring something to black out the windows in the summer. like tin foil
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed in an individual cabin for two nights in mid June of 2014. Check in was efficient and included a brief tour of our cabin to explain the amenities. Friendly staff. Our cabin was clean and spacious. Location was an easy walk to restaurants and attractions in town. Bed was comfortable. Gas fireplace was a nice touch - if you needed warmth. Kitchenette was sufficient for our needs. We were happy with our stay and would definitely stay here on our next visit to Talkeetna.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites

Address: 22647 S Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Denali Fireside is a new facility in Talkeetna offering suites or cabins that comfortably accommodate up to 4 people. Features include pillow top king and queen beds, kitchenettes (mini-fridge, microwave, coffee brewer, bar sink) gas fireplaces, satellite HDTVs, wireless internet and private covered deckswith log gliders. The structures are log/frame and the interiors are decorated in Alaskana decor, including cozy hand sewn quilts. New for 2010 - Our "Little Cabin in the Woods" located on 5 acres beside a small spring-fed pond, 3 miles from our lodge in Talkeetna. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Denali Fireside Cabins Hotel Talkeetna
Denali Fireside Cabins And Suites
Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites Talkeetna, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Fireside Cabins & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.