We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant breakfast with so so service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
23601 S Talkeetna Spur Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676
907-733-9500
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 19 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Price range: $15 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Foraker has all the flare of big city dining without the dress code. Instead you'll find amazing Alaska cuisine, linen tablecloths, top notch service, and an award winning wine list. Enjoy dining in a quiet and intimate atmosphere while taking in unobstructed views of the Three Rivers, Denali and the Alaska Range. Our culinary creations have been featured on the Food Network, and we've been honored to receive Wine Spectator's "Award of Excellence" every year for the past decade.
Plano, Texas
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“elegant breakfast with so so service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The last morning, before check out, we decided to eat in the Lodge. The french toast and the order of eggs were great and was a nice way to end that part of our trip. Our server, along with many of the restaurant staff. are exchange student from Eastern Europe who come here to work for two months and then have a couple of weeks to spend in New York or elsewhere. The kitchen also serves the buffet next door so service from the kitchen is slow at breakfast time. With a lodge this big, you would think that management could resolve this issue but apparently not. Still, with a table overlooking the mountains, we got in the right frame of mind and waited patiently.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    15
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnegat, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Magnificent Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great place for lodging and the views of Denali are beyond description. Rooms were comfortable and well appointed. The courtesy shuttle to town was most helpful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Over night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Nice place fantastic views could Mt MacKinley clear as bell in the morning,lots of trails and lots mosquittos.Staff seemed to have attitude.Very large clean rooms.u could walk to town or take the free shuttle there and back after nine u can get the local cab back for $3 a person

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
334 reviews 334 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“Several dining choices: Tasty Food & Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

There are a couple restaurants (one more formal than the other) inside and a coffee/pastry stand in the lobby that opens early. We ate at the Foraker Dining Room several times and were always extremely happy with the food. On one occasion we ordered the Matanuska Wings, Fish & Chips, and Chicken Pot Pie; the bill was about $40. Everything was delicious and our waiter, Jacob, took great care of us. From the dining room, the views are of Mt McKinley (when visible) and the surrounding mountains. I recommend eating there.

There is also a little coffee/pastry corner across from the big fireplace in the lobby. We had coffee and muffins there- everything was great. Price-wise, I feel the restaurants here were in-line with the other Alaskan eateries we visited. Considering these businesses have to make 12 months of sales in the short 5-month summer tourist season, I think the prices in Alaska are a bargain.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We had dinner at the Foraker dining room. We had the potstickers and bounty salad – both of which were very good, and the Spanish short ribs which were okay. The setting was comfortable and service was very good. When you're staying at the Lodge this is a reasonable alternative for eating. Prices are high as they are everywhere in Alaska. Recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.