We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Booking process very difficult” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Talkeetna Roadhouse

Save Saved
You added Talkeetna Roadhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Talkeetna Roadhouse
Talkeetna, AK 99676   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
MN
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Booking process very difficult”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Roadhouse twice in the past and have lived with their cumbersome booking process. But in trying to make a reservation for March 2013 my patience came to an end.

In June I made a reservation through their website, where you must give your credit card info even before you know if there is availability. About two weeks after making the request online I sent them an EMail saying that my plans had changed and I would not be staying there as requested. Received nothing until yesterday when they confirmed my original request.

Obviously they never check EMail (that was one reason I had miscommunication last year). Also, the fact that they are the only lodging establishment in Alaska that I have encountered that requires credit card information before even knowing if there is availability makes this one place I can not recommend anymore.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    37
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
13
36
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Notice that I've rated this place very good, but it is so different from typical lodging it is hard to know if that's really fair, or not. My wife and I and our adult daughter shared the Museum Apartment (above the Talkeetna Museum) for one night. It is about a block from the Roadhouse proper. We had a large common living area (including a single bed), a separate bedroom, a separate bath, and a kitchen / dining area at the end of common room. We paid $168 for the three of us for one night. The furnishings, how to describe? Mixed "thrift shop" might be the best. For us old folks, its took us back to our college days when were opting for cheap lodging (not that this place is cheap). It was clean. (When I asked my wife what to say, she said: "Say it was great.") No TV reception, but they did have a set with tape player attached and a good movie library. It was very private and quiet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davidson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Thanks again for another awesome year of great breakfasts, coffee, wonderful bakery & fellowship with people from around the world and the USA. Loved the Reindeer Patty Pie and Monster Cookie. Twice a day at the Roadhouse will spoil a man. The mornings are very busy and sometimes crazy, but grab a seat anywhere it is open, relax, and enjoy. The pancakes are the size of a plate. At night the menu is limited to several great ideas of soups, sandwiches, and other house specials which are terrific. The variety of pies are most unusual too and cooked daily. It is a must do going to Talkeetna, Alaska. If you take the train this is your first stop going into the town.... no red lights and one stop sign. You will enjoy the community. If you sleep here it is not the Hilton....just the basics. It is an old Roadhouse of yesterday. It is a great Alaskan adventure! 5th year

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodview, VA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I agree with the review by AlaskaDreams. We also stayed in room #2 in the Roadhouse and were very surprised at how quiet it was in the evening. We loved the charm of the place. We felt as if we had discovered a bit of what Alaska might have been before tourists. I also loved having an opportunity to do a laundry. The washer and dryer were just down the hall from our room and you can buy detergent and fabric softener for a very reasonable price. We did not eat dinner there but had one of the best breakfasts on our trip in the morning. We each ordered the half breakfast and the portion was huge! The staff of both the restaurant and roadhouse were very friendly and helpful. Even though you have to share the bathroom, there are three bathrooms with showers and one half bath for 3 inside bedrooms and the cabin. We highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Stay in room #2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The Talkeetna Roadhouse is an old inn and restaurant located on the main street of Talkeetna, AK. I stayed in room #2 located between the shared bath/shower rooms and a lounge area with TV/internet. It was surprisingly quiet for a Saturday night. The restaurant (located in the same building) features home cooking - meals are served family style at large tables. The breakfast and baked goods (monster cookies!) combined with cheerful customer service were memorable. I would recommend the Roadhouse for travelers who want to experience a part of Alaska that is a little off the beaten track.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Stayed here on our Alaska road trip. Loved the rustic charm of this little cabin. Had a musty smell when we first entered but I supposed that is expected. A queen and single bed in the cabin with two single mattresses in the loft. Noise level was low even though the cabin was just behind the roadhouse. Shared bathroom and toilet is just a few steps away in the main building of the roadhouse. Free coffee in the roadhouse for guests. When we have our meals there, we didn't have to order and pay for coffee! Our kids loved the common room which was cozy and has plenty of boardgames to keep them occupied. Lady at the check-in was very friendly and very knowledgeable with information not just on Talkeetna but on other places of interest in Alaska. Talkeetna is a very small town and for us on a road trip, one night was just enough and were glad that we chose the little cabin. And don't forget to try their delicious sourdough pancake (but do get the half order if you are a small eater)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colgate, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were in room 2 on the main floor of the main building. A basic room with a sink and a share bathroom. We didn't have to share the bathroom as the other rooms were empty. Very friendly and helpful staff. Meals are served at large tables which encourages mingling among the guests and locals.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Talkeetna Roadhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Roadhouse

Address: Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Talkeetna Roadhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Roadhouse Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Roadhouse Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talkeetna Roadhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.