We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge to your Saves list
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 12.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Talkeetna
Mosta, Malta
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Beautiful location and a lovely hotel. The walk into town is pleasant enough and if you don't feel like walking (especially the uphill return) the hotel kindly provide a frequent shuttle bus service into town and back. If you are either on your way to Denali National Park or heading toward Anchorage this is very well worth a stopover at the very least.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    128
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
105
191
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evans, ga
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Impressive as you drive up and see the stone pillars and Beautiful design of this lodge. When you walk in the front door the huge stone fireplace with real burning fire welcomes you along with an amazing view right from the lobby. This is definitely a step up from other Alaskan lodges we have visited on this trip. This one is expensive, but along with the price comes outdoor fireplaces, a truly amazing lobby, an outdoor viewing deck, refrigerators and air ionizers in rooms, a small but clean workout room, on site restaurants to chose from, and great service.

We really enjoyed sitting by the fireplace in the lobby in the evening reading. The logs on the fireplace and replaced when needed in order to keep the lobby warm and welcoming.

The rooms are not five star, but from what i have experienced of Alaskan lodges, this one gets my vote!

Room Tip: Get a mountain view! Amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
268 reviews 268 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

On a Royal Caribbean land tour: lots of one night stands! This is the best hotel to date! Fresh, clean all about, beautiful yard and flowers, great service. It doesn't hurt that we woke up to a clear day and had stunning views of Mt. McKinley...fantastic. Would definitely recommend. It is a bit out of town, but the shuttle is quite convenient.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to provide this review of your recent stay here at the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. I’m glad to see you were pleasantly surprised by the view of Denali from your window. I’m also glad that you enjoyed our comfy beds and the cleanliness of your room. We take pride in the service we provide to all of our guests, and that includes the attention to detail provided by our housekeeping team. I will be sure to pass your feedback along to our staff.


We look forward to welcoming you back for another stay in Alaska soon!

Kindest Regards,
Heather Zimny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one night as part of a tour group. The views from this hotel are spectacular. We got to see Denali from the mountain side of the hotel. If the mountain is covered with clouds, you can ask the staff to give you a "Denali Call" should the clouds move out. They will call your room to let you know that the mountain is in view. Our only complaints about the room were that the curtains didn't make the room very dark and it got a bit hot, even with the window open and the fans on. When the sun was still up at 1:00 am, we were still awake because the curtains just didn't block out the light. This hotel had the best towels of any hotel I've ever seen though. We ate at the bistro restaurant in the hotel and the food was delicious! My husband had the pot roast and I had the hamburger, both of which were excellent. The employees were extremely nice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The Talkeetna Lodge is ideally situated, a short drive to the main street, best view of Denali (aka McKinley) for miles. Great stop for 1-2 nights between Anchorage and Denali National Forest.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us again and for sharing your insights on TripAdvisor. It is our hope to welcome you back soon!

Kindest Regards,
Heather Zimny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Greenwich, RI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Although this ais a nice hotel in a beautiful location, the bathroom was very basic and there was no turn down service which is what I expect for hotels in this price range

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here as part of a post-cruise tour. The room was good, unfortunately it faced the parking lot rather than the mountains. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The large fireplace in the lobby was great to sit by and chat. It looked out onto a deck with an unobstructed view of Mt. Denali. The food in the dining room was good. Overall, this would was a very good place to stay.

Room Tip: If possible reserve a room with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Address: Mile 12.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge above the small community of Talkeetna on the south side of Mt. McKinley, our lodge offers unforgettable views of Mt. McKinley and the Alaska Range, yet we are just minutes from adventures of a lifetime. Enjoy the view as you relax next to our 46-foot river rock fireplace or shop for Native art from villages across Alaska. Enjoy casual or fine dining featuring Alaska specialties and the best wine selection in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Alaskan Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.