We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but wonder if it's worth it” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge to your Saves list
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mile 12.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Talkeetna
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice but wonder if it's worth it”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Rooms are entirely adequate, clean, etc, and on a clear day the view would be lovely, but we checked in behind a busload of tour guests and felt like we were in the way or an inconvenience to every staff member we met - front desk, bartender, wait staff... Lobby wasnt as grand as web page suggests but nice enough. Nothing really bad but hard to justify price for the experience.

Talkeetna is a trippy little town - and not sure where to recommend for alternate accomodations - so a visit is worth the drive. Wish the hotel felt like character and charm (or service) was worth the price

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
Your experience with us is not the type of experience we wish for our guest. It is not our standard to treat any guest as an inconvenience as we appreciate the business we receive from everyone and I am sorry that you felt this way. We will continue to work hard so that we can impress and please all our guest that come through our doors. I hope you that you enjoyed the rest of your trip through Alaska.
Michelle Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    130
    36
    15
    5
See reviews for
107
193
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chevy Chase, MD
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Pouring rain did not diminish our enjoyment staying at this charming lodge. With a great travel desk, good restaurant, beautiful grounds, and nicely appointed rooms, we were able to make the best of a terrible weather situation. In decent weather, it would be perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Guest,
It’s so nice reading reviews like yours! I’m happy you were able to enjoy your time here even though the weather wouldn’t cooperate. I hope you will be able to visit again while the sun is shining!
Kindest Regards,
Michelle Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Beautiful hotel in Denali National Park. We stayed here while on a four day land tour of Alaska prior to a cruise of the Inside Passage. The hotel was very rustic but with all the amenities needed. The room was large, clean and very comfortable (and it came with a view of the Denali mountain range). The food at the restaurant was great. They also had beautiful grounds, flowers and walking paths. The highlight of the stay was waking up to see that the clouds had cleared and there standing in all its glory was Mt. McKinley!!!. They say only 1 of 3 travelers get to see the mountain because of the constant cloud cover. The hotel will give you a wake up call even in the middle of the night if the clouds clear and there is a view of the mountain. It was a sight I will never forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Dear Mandelee,

I appreciate the time you spent in reviewing the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge and am happy that you enjoyed the time you spent here. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,
Michelle Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, TX
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Only downside we noticed was room temperature control. No air conditioning, which is not a problem, but heat control made no difference. Is a couple of miles from town where most of the restaurants are located.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Dickburn TX,
Thank you for posting a review of the Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge. As you experienced, Alaska has very little use for air conditioning, but we certainly do provide heat in our rooms. I hope you enjoyed the time you spent in our town and at our lodge.
Kindest Regards,
Michelle Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

After having been asked at 10am by housekeeping if we were leaving for the day, we arrived back at our room some 10 hours later, wet and cold from a long hike an hour away, to find the room completely unserviced. "Sorry, we forgot," was the front desk's response. Human error happens, to be sure; it was the blasé response that upset us the most - little in the way of apology, just an explanation that this had happened several times over the course of the previous few weeks. I'm in a customer service business, so I'd suggest a more appropriate response would be "why don't you wait in the bar and have a drink on us; we'll let you know as soon as it's done,"or "we'll comp your breakfast in the morning," rather than us having to ask to be informed when the room was ready and then, a half hour later when we went to the front desk for an update, to be told, "Oh yeah, it's been done."

Aside from this experience, I'd agree with others who have said the food is so-so, the rooms are spacious but hot, and the advertised "hikes" are short walks on gravel roads.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catctal, Front Office Manager at Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
Dear Portland 3,
I am very sorry to read about your experience at the lodge as I do remember speaking with you in person the day of your departure. It is very unfortunate how your situation was taken care of, though you were compensated accordingly. I was able to discuss the matter with the staff and we have committed ourselves to better customer service. I do hope you will visit us again soon.
Kindest Regards,
Michelle Sutton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oviedo,Fl
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Beautiful hotel.Great vistas of the Mt.McKinley mountain range from their large outdoor deck. The fireplace in the lobby was huge and the lobby provided a great place for people to visit. The room was clean ,neatly furnished and had a comfortable bed. The restaurant was pricey and the quality was average to slightly below average. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No. California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

Celebrity cruise line booked us here. We thought the lodge looked great on-line and we were not disappointed. Lovely, relaxing and cozy. Spacious rooms. Bed was superbly comfortable. They handled the swarm of tour folks well. It was summer, gorgeous weather and we walked the path that meanders around the property - enchanting.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge

Address: Mile 12.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 212
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a ridge above the small community of Talkeetna on the south side of Mt. McKinley, our lodge offers unforgettable views of Mt. McKinley and the Alaska Range, yet we are just minutes from adventures of a lifetime. Enjoy the view as you relax next to our 46-foot river rock fireplace or shop for Native art from villages across Alaska. Enjoy casual or fine dining featuring Alaska specialties and the best wine selection in the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Alaskan Hotel Talkeetna
Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talkeetna Alaskan Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.