We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Denali Overlook Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Denali Overlook Inn
Save
You added Denali Overlook Inn to your Saves list
Mile 8.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, P.O. Box 1023, Talkeetna, AK   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
marietta ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Lovely place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had two rooms -and 6 people. It was clean, comfortable and the breakfasts were wonderful. Mabel and Don were very nice and helped us with all of our needs. -Even tracking down fans for our use durning record heat during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
55
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crawfordville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had three nights here and it was the most relaxing ones of our 10 day trip. We slept well, ate well and enjoyed evey minute of the views. This is our first experience with hosts that are present each day (and I was a little uncomfortable with that) but Ron and Mable are the perfect hosts and immediately made me feel welcome. Rooms were super clean and towls were as plush as the ones at home (not like the hotel ones). They thought of everything ... !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Denali Overlook Inn is a very convenient place to stay when visiting Talkeetna. Ron and Mabel provide quiet, clean and comfortable accommodations with a spectacular view of Denali. Tasty breakfast is made to order from a selection list that will satisfy everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Denali was as clear as a bell both days, plus the two lesser mountains as well. The inn is beautifully constructed and the garden is lovely. The beds were comfortable and the linens very nice. The towels were plush and generous. Mabel and Ron were helpful with local attractions.

They offer a wide variety of choices for breakfast and are very flexible. The food was satisfactory, if unremarkable.

We stayed here for two nights, some of the hottest, 88 to 94. that Talketna has seen. It would not be expected that an Alaskan inn would have air conditioning, so we were very uncomfortable both nights. We had fans initially, but then the power went out. Though it is light almost all night, going out of doors was a poor option since the mosquitoes were everywhere.

If it had not been for this unfortunate meeting of heat with loss of power, this might have been one of my favorite B&Bs ever. The lodge feel of the house and the spectacular view were amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Unfortunately, we only had one night here, as we were on our way back to Anchorage and home at the end of a 2 week trip. This was one of the nicest places we stayed. The room was very nice, and we didn't even have one of the mountain view rooms! Breakfast was great, and Ron and Mabel are super friendly and attentive. Whatever you want, they will try to accommodate. The place is spotless, perhaps helped by the policy that you have to take off your shoes when you come in. Alaska can be a very dusty and muddy place so this is a good policy, if you ask me, but you might want to have some slippers of flip flops handy. Our room did have mosquitoes in it, but hey, this is Alaska! I would definitely recommend the Denali Overlook. You can see Mt. McKinley in all its glory from the breakfast and sitting room, which was awesome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Ron and Mable are the perfect hosts. Our room was spacious with a wonderful shower. Breakfast was not only delicious but cooked to order. You may not have the wonderful weather we experienced but you can have coffee with Denali every morning even when you can not see her. We were skeptical staying so far from Talkeetna, but thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

First off, do yourself a favor and plan more than one night to stay here! We were fortunate enough to stay here for the last 4 nights of our Alasakan vacation! Ron and Mabel are a biig part of making the stay a great time! All the positives stated in earlier reviews have been confirmed as accurate! The day we checked in, no other guests had arrived and we were able to look at all of the rooms that the lodge offers. They are all beautiful, no doubt and you will love whichever one you choose, but at the last minute when finalizing our reservation with Mabel, we elected to take the Northern Exposure Cabin. Great decision! You get all the benefits of Mable and Ron's FANTASTIC breakfasts and the lodge living room, but you get privacy that the other rooms can't offer! The views from both the downstairs rooms, the deck, and the loft bedroom are incredible!! We made great use of the deck for our morning coffee and devtional time as well as just relaxing, enjoying the beauty of God's creation! We felt we had the best accommodations offered in Talkeetna! What a fun time!! Ron and Mabel have good suggestions for things to do. We suggest the K2 flightseeing tour with the glacier landing along with the Sun Dog Kennel tour. Don't hesitate, call Mabel now to schedule your 2 nights plus!!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Denali Overlook Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Overlook Inn

Address: Mile 8.5 Talkeetna Spur Road, P.O. Box 1023, Talkeetna, AK
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Denali Overlook Inn Talkeetna, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Denali Overlook Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.