We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pretty good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kahiltna Bistro

Kahiltna Bistro
Talkteena Spur Rd, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 19 restaurants in Talkeetna
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“pretty good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I dipped in here to get out of the rain between an excursion and the train. the coffee was good and the seafood chowder was a little bit thin but it had a nice flavor. Service was a little overwhelmed, but it was also crowded in there. All in all, a fine stop.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    17
    15
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Scallops were incredibly sandy, bacon was clearly not cooked through and the main course was salmon burger which was flavorless as was the potato salad. Would not dine again

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent for dinner or lunch on the deck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We ate twice since it was close to our Denali Fireside Cabins. My wife raved about the halibut tacos. Enjoyed the Moose's Tooth beer on tap. Lovely deck to eat outside and enjoy Talkeetna.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Break in Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

After running around Talkeetna all afternoon, stopped here for some grub and beer. Local brews were cold and delicious and complimented by good food.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savage, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Delicious food and amazing desserts. Try the chocolate lava cake! The service was also good. I would have preferred a table by a window, as it felt like we were right in the middle of the room/walkway, but that didn't take away from our experience.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kahiltna Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Kahiltna Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kahiltna Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.