We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grsat pastries” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flying Squirrel Bakery Cafe

Flying Squirrel Bakery Cafe
Mile 11 Talkeetna Spur, P.O. Box 685, Talkeetna, AK 99676
907-733-6887
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery, Coffee Shop, Eclectic, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Stop in for a visit at Flying Squirrel, a unique new cafe with creative deli-style menu and artisan breads baked in a wood-fired brick oven. Something for everyone: vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free and meat-lovers, too, organic Alaska-roasted espresso, free WIFI. Three miles from Talkeetna - no tour bus crowds, trees out the windows, open year round.
Libertyville
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Grsat pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Tried baked good which were great. Rest of items looked good also.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    43
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great bakery/cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

If you're in Talkeetna, AK and you're tired of waiting for a table at the Roadhouse, take a ride over to the Flying Squirrel Bakery Cafe. Best baked goods in the area and although the breakfast offerings are limited, they are delicious. Everything in this place is delicious! You'll pass it on your way to and from Talkeetna. Don't miss it!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Grab some pastries on way out of town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

Stopped on way out of Talkeetna based on recommendation of our DZT guide Hannah. Good breakfast pastries and great vibe - everything looks like a country kitchen should. Definitely worth the stop.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Baked Goods”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Definitely stop here when visiting Talkeetna. We loaded up on freshly baked breads and cookies. All were wonderful. Loved walking in and smelling the aroma of baking breads. Awesome place!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had dinner here. It was pizza night and all the tables were full. Of course they don't have many tables and we were able to get one after we ordered at the counter. We didn't want pizza so I had a soup and salad combo and my husband had a breakfast burrito. The clam chowder was good! Not quite as rich as what we make at home and had sweet potato in it. My husband enjoyed his burrito. We got a rhubarb scone to go. Think the total for all three was 21 dollars. So cheap for Alaska.

It looked like it was locals instead of tourists since it is a little out of town. That was just what we were looking for.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flying Squirrel Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Flying Squirrel Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flying Squirrel Bakery Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.