We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find for us, a multi-generational family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Northern Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Guest House
Save
You added Northern Guest House to your Saves list
13712 Second St, P O Box 24, Talkeetna, AK 99676   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Talkeetna B&B and Inns
Fairbanks, Alaska
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a find for us, a multi-generational family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Northern Guest House was perfect for us, especially since we were traveling with our son, a dog and our daughter and her family -- they were in an RV and stayed in a nearby campground. Paula was welcoming to all, which in the rain was a blessing, and the kids enjoyed the ping-pong and video. The guest house is reasonably priced and in a perfect location, a quiet street just a block away from the liveliness of "downtown Talkeetna." Throughout our planning and over several phone calls, Paula was exceptionally helpful with tips for the whole family and the right room for Leo, the dog. Our ground-floor room was large and we shared the adjacent full kitchen with the upstairs guests. Our room was not connected to our bathroom, but this turned out to be fine since the guest house is small and no one was around when we crossed the sitting room to use it. Our long-legged vizsla might have had quite a time climbing the open spiral staircase to the other rooms--he voted for the ground floor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    18
    2
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
30
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, MN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great accomodations, reasonably priced, awesome location, & plenty of amenities. Owner gave us a great tip on an attraction that we would never have know about without her. We enjoyed a campfire within a rain & mosquito protected gazebo.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Paula welcomes you and your Dog with open arms. She provides Kennels to keep your dog in while you take your local adventures. She offered to watch our dog the first night while we took a glacier landing trip. Each room was very clean with its own bathroom. The house was decorated in an Alaskan way. Best of all she was very affordable .We will be back in August.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

We went to Talkeetna the memorial weekend and stayed at Paula's guesthouse for the night. The house was beautiful and the room was clean and nicely decorated with furnitures and cute little artifacts.
The owner was really nice and we felt at home throughout the overnight stay. She even let us leave our car parked in front of her house after we checked out. Thank you.
Only one suggestion to Paula- maybe consider putting a heavier curtain in the room for summer nights?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaskadale, Owner at Northern Guest House, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Black out curtains are up! : )
Making them has been on my "to do "list for sometime now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Directed to Paula's guesthouse by the fully booked Roadhouse we were made so welcome by the lovely owner who extracted a bottle of beer from the fridge which we had straight away! Our rooms, up a twisting staircase, were spotless and interestingly decorated with quilts, ornaments and things that obviously had a history and meant a lot to the owner. Immaculate bathrooms were a step a way and private, no one else but the renter of the room could use them. Coffee was on offer in the morning, there was a ping pong table and the centre of 'town' was five minutes away. A friendly, comfortable place to stay.
Peter Smith Australia

Room Tip: Both rooms that we saw were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We were booked in for one night and quickly realised how wonderful it was so booked ourselves in for a second night. Paula is a generous, warm, lovely host and made us instantly feel welcome.Her rooms are really clean, cozy and comfortable and it was the best night's sleep I had during my whole time in Alaska! I would have no hesitation in recommending this accommodation to anyone-as a bonus, you get to meet Paula, who is fab!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went to talkeetna this april with our small trailer and there wasnt much open that time of year. Paula was so nice to let us park in her driveway. She gave us keys to the guest house so we could use the kitchen and bathroom and hang out in the common space and even helped us with laundry all for a very reasonable price. Even our well behaved dog was welcome! The guest house was very cute and I really like the remodel job that she has done. Even has a ping pong table in the main room! Everything was within walking distance and she gave us directions to the best places to see mount. McKinley. If we head back through talkeetna we will be sure to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Northern Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Guest House

Address: 13712 Second St, P O Box 24, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Northern Guest House is 2 blocks from Main St.Close to all services Talkeetna has to offer.The Guest house has many family orientated activities both indoor and outdoor. This is a great place to stay with a group of friends for the weekend. Each having their own space. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Guest House Talkeetna, Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Northern Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.