We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST AROUND THE BEND!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Payo's Thai Kitchen

Payo's Thai Kitchen
37974 Talkeetna Spur Hwy, Mile 1.2, Talkeetna, AK 99676
907 733-5503
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 20 Restaurants in Talkeetna
Restaurant details
Amarillo, Texas
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“JUST AROUND THE BEND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

If you want to escape the Main Street madness in Talkeetna, go one block north to Payo's! This food truck-esq set up may not look like much, but the food speaks volumes! I've had the chance to dine here a few times for lunch and the portions are generous and the prices fair. They make everything to order and as someone who has visited Thailand, I give this joint two thumbs up!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place for vegetarian food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family had a very flavourful vegetarian meal at Payo Thai Kitchen on July 10, 2014. The lady who took our order really understood that vegetarian food meant no chicken broth and no oyster sauce which is often overlooked by most restaurants who claim to be vegetarian-friendly. The service was fast and friendly. While the area was small and off the main shopping strip in Talkeetna, it was very clean. I would recommend this place to anyone who is looking for authentic Thai food and a good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good break from expensive Alaska food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The place is hidden from the main road. Good thing we didn't give up looking for it. I think the woman said they have daily specials and that day it was fried rice with 2 spring rolls. We got 2 orders of chicken and beef. Very tasty and satisfying.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Lovely small informal place run by a dedicated Thai lady who knows how to cook. A bit spicy for some, but I loved my curry dish. If you are craving Thai food, then this is a very good place.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice spicy food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Wanted to try some spicy food, the chicken fried rice was very good and spicy. The service was also good. We did a takeaway order, the seating space looked limited but on a clear day, they have good outdoor seating.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Payo's Thai Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Payo's Thai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Payo's Thai Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.