We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable rooms, but...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Talkeetna Motel

Talkeetna Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Talkeetna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Talkeetna Motel
Save
You added Talkeetna Motel to your Saves list
Box 115, Talkeetna, AK 99676   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Talkeetna
perry, ga
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“comfortable rooms, but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

the worse thing about this motel is that one checks in at a bar right beside the very small motel...a very smokey bar! The motel was in process of renovation when we arrived and it was pretty scarey....we thought we had made a huge mistake by booking rooms here. However, the rooms were a great surprise....not ready when we arrived slightly after scheduled time but they were very comfortable and clean....owner/manager/cleaner was quite nice but slightly intimidating. I would not stay here again simply because you have to go into the smokey bar area for check-ins, ice, etc....good location for viewing the "mountain", walking all over town, and down to river.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
17
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed here for work- The women who runs it is very nice and hospitable but the rooms are pretty brutal. Something was running on the roof at night and the rooms was creaking. Don't know how else to descrive it- just creaking. I'm sitting on the bed right now and it could use a new mattress. Just came back from a night on the mountain and in my experience that means any room should feel awesome but this one didn't cut it. Hopefully it's cheap but I think it's more for the climbers who just need a warm room at a low rate. They're renovating right now and with any luck the hotel rooms will soon match the friendliness of the owner.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The room was really nice, the owners were very friendly, it is not a fancy motel but considering other places we stayed in Alaska - it is great for the price, we caould walk to the river and to town - nice location and not on the main street

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani HI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We spent one night in Talkeetna on our way from Denali to Seward. We were pleasantly surprised to find this place is a real gem. We arrived quite early in the day but the owner showed us to our room. He said he always heats the rooms and turns the tv on so guests will feel welcome. The room was immaculate. Brand new bathroom floor to ceiling. Room had microwave, fridge, coffee/tea, writing desk and free wifi and satellite tv. This motel is very centrally located in this artsy Alaska town.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

This motel is reasonable value. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed. All you need for a one night stopover. There is free wifi which works well, no breakfast, however a couple of places in town, so it isn't a problem.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

I have to agree with the other reviews. Don't judge this book by its cover. When we pulled up, the sign for the hotel was propped up against the wall and it looked like a total dive. We were so surprised to find a very clean, tidy room with a practically new bathroom. Not many bells and whistles, but a clean room with blackout curtains which are essential for Alaska in the summer.

Stayed July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kernersville, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Don't be turned off by the outside. It's on a side street in small,,,small Talkeetna. The room was clean and small, but big enough for th 2 of us. Bathroom was newer and updated. There is a small microwave and fridge. The is no AC, just a fan. Great shower, nice cup of coffee and breakfast at the Talkeetna Roadhouse down the street that's all you need.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Talkeetna Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Talkeetna Motel

Address: Box 115, Talkeetna, AK 99676
Location: United States > Alaska > Talkeetna
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Talkeetna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Talkeetna Motel Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Talkeetna Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.