We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The quaintest place you'll ever stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Colonia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn
Save
You added O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn to your Saves list
2 Waterfront Rd, Colonia, Yap 96943, Federated States of Micronesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Honolulu
1 review
“The quaintest place you'll ever stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

As somebody who travels a good deal around the Pacific region, I will confidently say that O'Keefe's is the most delightfully unique experience that I've had in hospitality. It is like stepping into another world and era. There is no better feeling than getting a warm home-y feeling when you're so far away from home. The service is fantastic and the owner, Don, is incredibly caring. You won't regret your stay here...and you certainly won't forget it either.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had a wonderful stay at O'Keefe's. Great rooms, each with a balcony on the water with an incredible view of the sunrise every morning. Very attentive staff and owner. Great restaurant, in the old original O'Keefe General Store property. A great library where you can sit and relax and read a book, and some very interesting historical pictures and artifacts throughout. Front desk also has book available on O'Keefe for those interested in a great read!

Room Tip: All five rooms are equally nice! Room#1 and #5 are on the corners of the building so provide a bit w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Micronesia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The minute we arrived we were so impressed by the inn's front entrance. We were greeted by a botanical array of plants and flowers with each one greeting us as we walked by. The rocking chairs were on the porch giving us an open invitation to sit and relax. The front lobby was very charming and I was greeted with the warmest smile and generous hospitality as I checked in. You can see from the lobby another room that echos the sounds of the waves breaking on the pier which leads to a small open balcony with the coolest breezes and extended seating that you can lay on and star gaze at night. The room was so charming as if I was taken away to a bed and breakfast in that was located near Forest Gump's hometown. The most amazing thing was that our cozy room was so strategically designed that all the spaces and fixtures were functional and decorative. Wi fi was great with an outlet right next to the bed for my laptop. We also had personalized letters to upon arrival and departure. The view from our balcony was the beautiful waters of Yap. It was so peaceful and charming that we did not want to leave. Before we left we enjoyed sitting on the porch chairs and sipping fresh coconut juice from its natural shell and chatting with the owner. Thank you for a memorable experience!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As you walk in there is a gorgeous front porch with rocking chairs. The hotel is so intimate with only a few rooms and you feel like you have stepped back in time and are staying at someones house down South in Charlestown. Sepia photos, an old gramophone, wooden floorboards and an old- school library. It reminded me of that old show the Ghost and Mrs Muir I kept waiting for the ghost of an old seafarer to pop out with his pipe to share a mint julip on the porch. The rooms have a spot for everything (even a great dive closest) with lovely white wooden porchs that jut out straight over the water. I can't remember the last time I was this relaxed. The staff are lovely and organised a driver to take us on a trip around the island including an amazing "Indianna Jones" like jungle tour to see WWII planes with ferns and nature overgrowing them-very cool. Absolutely loved my time here one of the best hotels I have ever stayed at. As Yap is a dive destination to be able to come back to this haven after a big day out is wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My wife and I selected this Inn without really knowing what to expect. We wanted to visit an interesting, non touristy location but did not want to stay in a typical motel room. We were hoping for a hotel with some character that was at least moderately comfortable. O'Keefe's surpassed our highest expectations. We were met on time at the airport (in the middle of the night) by Jay who collected our bags and drove us (~10 to 15 minutes) to the Inn. Our bags were taken in to the room and we were handed the keys and told to have a pleasant evening without checking in or doing any paperwork. As someone else mentioned, at first appeared small but we quickly found was more than enough for us, especially considering the nice lounge and patio area. The bed was very comfortable and the air conditioning worked fine and was very quiet. The hotel and the surrounding area are also quiet because, pretty much everything shuts down between 9:00 and 11:00 pm. The bathroom and shower are a bit small but there was plenty of hot water and it was fine with us. Our room (#1) had a small deck which actually overhangs the bay and you can hear the waves lapping at the sea wall a few feet below the deck. The small room off the deck for drying dive gear was very effective and useful.
The Inn is very stylish, decorated with many small details in Southern US style. The Inn is impeccably clean and the staff are quiet (as seems to be the nature of the folks on Yap), not obtrusive, but always available and helpful. Our rooms were always cleaned sometime after we left the room and before we returned, whenever that happened to be. We never saw by whom. We were on Yap for 1 week and we did some diving, snorkeling, hiking, fishing, cultural event, and rented a car for an Island tour which we did ourselves. At our request, the staff made all the arrangements for these events and they all occurred on time and were better than we expected. Don, the owner and Yap resident for 42 years, was truly welcoming and knew all about where to go and what to do on the island and always pointed us in the right direction. He is a very nice gentleman and I highly recommend spending some time with him if you get the chance. He knows a lot about the island history.
The town of Colonia is not very big so you can walk around most of the town in about half an hour. Everything is within walking distance. None of the restaurants in the area have a large menu however the food is usually good to very good. The best fish is at Jhunn's Oasis restaurant right across the street from O'Keefe's. The sashimi (yellowfin tuna) is the freshest and best I have ever enjoyed. They serve you at least twice as much as I get in California at about 1/3 the price. We did some off-shore fishing and caught a nice whahoo, mahi mahi and rainbow runner which we took over to the Oasis and asked if they would prepare for us for dinner which they agreed to do. They served both the wahoo and mahi mahi as sashimi, in coconut milk and grilled and the rainbow runner as soup. We were stuffed. After dinner we asked for the bill and they said it was no charge since we brought the fish. We were stunned since they obviously went to a lot of work to prepare the fish. We left them a large gratuity anyway. They asked what to do with the rest of the fish and we left it with them. They seemed surprised but were very happy to have it. All the meals at the Oasis can be charged to your room at O'Keefe's which we found convenient.

We did have dinner elsewhere including Coconut crab at the Verandah and at the Mnuw (a boat moored at the Manta Ray hotel next to O'keefe's. Teh crab was good but not great. The food is at Mnuw is good, better than bar food, and it is a nice place to sit out after a day and enjoy their homemade beer. My wife had two massages at the Manta Ray hotel which she said were very nice.

We were able to keep our room until our flight which left at 1:00 am which was very convenient for us. Jay got us to the airport in plenty of time. We were very happy with our visit to Yap and our stay at O'Keefe's.

There is no doubt that when we return to Yap we will stay at O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn. We don't recall the last time that we felt so welcomed, comfortable and relaxed as we did during our week with these warm and generous people and we really appreciate it.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms and all are probably fine. We stayed in #1 which had a corner deck which may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guam, Mariana Islands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

And they should, with only five rooms. the place is comfortable and charming, a lovely place to hang out when you're not out exploring or diving. As others have commented, the place is very well thought out, with a space for everything, and a great dive closet on the veranda to rinse and dry your dive gear. Your dive boat can pick you up right on the veranda, which is quite fun. The decor was dreamed up by the owner, Don, to look like old Savannah, hometown of David O'Keefe, the inn's namesake. The front desk is straight out of the Agatha Christie book/movie At Bertram's Hotel. After a day of diving, we loved to sit on the deck and watch the sunset or sit in the cozy bar and do the same. I would recommend this inn without reservation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We selected this place based on reviews here and weren't disappointed. Airport transfers were handled efficiently. All staff we met were nice; they were there when you needed them but kept in the background otherwise. The rooms are small and I was a ltitle disappointed at first. But then I started to unpack and place bags and items and discovered that there actually was space for everything. It seemed like someone really thought things out - if I wanted to put something out for easy access, there was a chair or shelf. The room had everything you could want: coffee maker (although Nescafe isn't coffee to me), refrigerator, safe, TV, internet, etc. The closet held just the right amount if items for our short stay. The best part of the room was the small veranda and the really neat dive closet with dryer. We were there to snorkel but I really appreciated the dryer closet. We put our bath towels in there every day to dry, and our suits and T-shirts from snorkeling so everything was ready for the next day.

We arrived on Sunday and everything was closed. It would be nice if O'Keefe's guests could use the pool next door, even if only on the day of arrival.

We had several meals at the Oasis. They didn't open for dinner one night so we ate on the boat at the Manta Ray hotel which we probably would have tried one day anyway. We couldn't get into the restaurant one other night for dinner so we ate in the Pub instead (same menu). The Pub was so dark you couldn't see the menu or your food. I found it very depressing and wouldn't recommend it. Service was slow but I guess this is because the restaurant was full.

We were not given the option of keeping our room for our late night flight and I had to book a day at both ends of the trip to handle the middle-of-the-night flights. I was a little disappointed to hear that others got this allowance and I didn't, especially as there were no other guests in the hotel while we were there.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn

Address: 2 Waterfront Rd, Colonia, Yap 96943, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Yap > Colonia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Colonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn Yap/Colonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Keefe's Waterfront Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.