We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good alternate place to eat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Oasis Restaurant

Oasis Restaurant
Main Street, Colonia, Yap, Federated States of Micronesia
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Colonia
Cuisines: Pacific Rim
Restaurant details
Dallas, TX
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good alternate place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Across the street from Manta Ray Bay hotel, Oasis offers a very inexpensive alternative to Mnuw. Although the food is average, the grilled ham and cheese is fast and only $3.50. You have to try the lemonade made from the local Ging Gong (more like a cross of lime and orange). It is excellent!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    5
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Oasis Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

Very good oriental dishes. This is a great find in such an out of the way place.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Great Value with Nice Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

We ate at Oasis twice during our stay and both times were very pleased with our meals. The meals included lots of food and both soup and salad. The first day we had some of the best chicken noodle soup we’ve ever had. The atmosphere was nice, second only to Mnuw on Yap. The lumpia was very good as well. Other dishes were relatively typical and on par with the quality we had elsewhere in Micronesia.

Service was slow but I think our server was new. The Oasis is partly a bar and it was surprising that they didn’t have any decent beer options. In addition they were overcharging for wine (even for Micronesia) by charging $5.50 for a glass of 3 buck Chuck. The French fries were mediocre and appeared to be the type you get frozen out of a bag. Despite the few negatives it was still a great place to eat, and extremely convenient if you’re staying at Okeefe’s or Manta Bay. It should also be noted that Oasis is the same place as Okeefe’s Canteen, they have identical menus so don’t go to both expecting anything different other than the atmosphere (Okeefe’s is outside).

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great food and lots of it. Cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Everything we tried was good! We ate there 3 different times and tried something new everytime. You can't get a bad meal there!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

I caught a small tuna and they were nice enough to cook it up and make some sashimi at no cost. They were also gracious enough to keep the restaurant open as I was late in getting there. I ate most of my meals at Oasis while I was in Yap. Prices are better than some other places and portions are very generous. Fantastic staff and a wonderful family.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oasis Restaurant also viewed

Been to Oasis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oasis Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.