We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby rooms in a mosquito infested swamp” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort to your Saves list
Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Teya, Kosrae 96944, Federated States of Micronesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kosrae
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Shabby rooms in a mosquito infested swamp”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

The guidebooks are SO wrong: this is no tropical paradise. The 'cottages' are shabby, dirty (stained with bat droppings) and run-down. The location, between the roaring surf and a mosquito infested swamp, will guarantee sleepless nights. Everything seems down at heel and well past its best, but the prices are still high. Go to the Kosrae Nautilus Resort instead: you'll get a more comfortable room, better food, a more central location and a more enjoyable experience all round.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KatrinaKVR, Owner at Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2011
I am very sorry that this guest did not enjoy his stay with us.

This is a tropical island and we make no secret about the presence of mosquitoes. They hatch in the many water pockets by the leaves and branches in the trees, not in the mangrove behind us which is a free flowing estuary. We do provide mosquito repellent and repellent coils to all guests in case the mossies become a pest. We are also setting up a test study of a propane driven mosquito trap. If it is effective, it will very beneficial to us and to the villages throughout the island.

Again I apologize that the cottage was not up to his standard. We build from local biodegradable materials and unfortunately they bio-degrade very efficiently, especially in our environment. Maintenance is constant and ongoing. It is too bad that he did not ask to be moved to another cottage, which might have been more to his liking.

I can assure him that any stains wee the result of natural decomposition of the building materials, not droppings of any animal. In any case the only bats on Kosrae are the giant (3 foot wing span) fruit bats.

Kosrae Village is rustic and not for everyone, most of our guests truly love what we have to offer. However, in the case where more Western accommodations are desired, I am glad that Kosrae Nautilus is available and in this case was able to accommodate this guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    11
    0
    1
    5
See reviews for
6
18
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

This was our second trip(in 10 years) to KVR for an awesome diving experience. We saw no pelagic fish this trip, but Kosrae has some of the most beautiful huge corals we've seen in the Pacific. The mounds of Christmas tree worms (plentiful in this area) and anemones with a variety of species and sizes of clown fish leave one in amazement of nature. The full service dive shop is great for all needs.

The food is awesome... even with true fresh tuna salad on the dive boat ! The restaurant offers a variety homemade from scratch - the herb bread, local fruit, jams, syrups and banana pancakes. and brownies are all yummy. The fish doesn't get any fresher; you may have been diving with it earlier in the day!

We had the suite w/ air conditioning this visit, much easier than the mosquito nets if you are queezy about bugs. With the structural set up of the cabins, bugs are hard to avoid. Amenities: Very comfy beds and pillows; fluffy towels, garden showers w/lots of hot water(always a good thing after a long day of diving), a 'full size' coffee pot (if you travel a lot, you can appreciate this) with 'good' coffee and tea and a stocked frig w/ water, fresh tangerines oranges and coconuts start the day off right. Lots of mosquito coils and bug spray are needed if you are a bug's delight as I am.

During high tide our cabin was about 10 feet from the water - very private, lush and beautiful. We had coffee and watched the sun rise perched in front of the ocean before our daily dives. The salt does take it's toll here on anything metal...so don't be surprised if there is some rust and corrosion on otherwise shiny surfaces.

Katrina, Bruce and the staff are awesome and very accommodating to make your stay the best! Ben goes above and beyond to make your dives all you want them to be. Seeing Katrina and Bruce again after 10 years was like going to see old friends.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

I have written a review that focuses on the ecological design of the cottages, the setting, and the 5-star restaurant. It includes info on dive packages and PADI training, community-based stewardship of the reef, and the friendliness of the staff.
I am a freelance journalist--I think the review has literary merit worth reading.
There is no bias, just child-like appreciation.
I'd like to submit the already written review.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollis, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2011

On a spur of the moment trip to beautiful Kosrae I had the good fortune to stay at in sync with its surroundings KVR. The peaceful location, charming huts and grounds, helpful staff, and good food in the on site restaurant met all my hopes and expectations. For the traveler wanting an authentic and uncomplicated experience, visit Kosrae and KVR!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Last minute choice, didn't know what to expect, however, soon as I walked in I felt right at home, accommodation at KVR is just great, don't expect the Hilton, it is as it is, an Eco traditional Kosraean Village and the experience is just priceless. Great restaurant and you must try the famous homemade bread. Good value overall looking forward to a return visit and hoping to give the scuba diving ago. Katrina is probably one of the loveliest people I have ever met, she should be cloned....

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Kosrae Village Ecolodge is THE Place to stay on Kosrae!
There is a 5 star PADI dive operation and they know the best spots underwater!
The staff is very friendly and are trying to help you in any way!
Great place! I hope I will come back one day!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

I have been there in August 2010. Great staff and a very nice place to stay on Kosrae.
Service from Airport pickup, willingness to help, hotel service, and check-out procedure was great. The Hospitality of the people is outstanding. Thanks to Katrina and Bruce.

Room was spacious and clean - just 10ft from the ocean! The hotel setup is unique and worth to see.

Location Kosrae: Life is basic on Kosrae and a great destination for travellers/explorers. A hidden gem, but not for tourists in the matter of speaking.

Best things: Many. Location, setup, nature, people, history, - adventures possible.
Disadvantage: Distance and how to get there.
But, I will return to this place!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort

Address: Teya, Kosrae 96944, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Kosrae
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kosrae
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private thatched cottages on the ocean, a world class restaurant, our on-site PADI 5-star dive center and amazing service make an unbeatable combination for a rejuvenating and invigorating holiday. Add a wildly beautiful, remote, mountainous tropical island and you have the holiday of your dreams. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kosrae Village Ecolodge Dive Hotel
Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort South Pacific

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kosrae Village Ecolodge & Dive Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.