We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing evening out from the Blue Lagoon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Truk Stop Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Chuuk
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Truk Stop Hotel
Save
You added Truk Stop Hotel to your Saves list
P.O. Box 546 | Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Disappointing evening out from the Blue Lagoon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

As mentioned elsewhere, we stayed at the Blue Lagoon for 11 days to dive the famous wrecks of Truk Lagoon. One evening for a change, we decided to go for dinner at the Truk Stop, which is the only other place recommended for holiday makers.

The Truk Stop is located nearer to the airport and in the town of Weno itself. Thus it is closer to local shops, not that there is a large selection.

The dive shop was extremely well stocked with the usual souvenirs, tee shirts etc, and staffed by a very friendly and helpful lady; she actually opened up the shop for us despite the fact that she was on the point of leaving for the evening.

The outside bar was quite attractive, overlooking the water. Due to the close proximity of the port, it is not the prettiest view in the world. Service was fine.

There is a bakery within the hotel, which is worth a visit here alone; the cakes were to die for, and we took quite a large selection away with us.

Sadly, our main reason for visiting was to enjoy a different scene for dinner and we were disappointed. We arrived quite early on in the evening, but were told they had no fish on the menu which rather surprised us. The only other options left were steak or pizza; we opted for the latter which was OK for a change but nothing special. The restaurant lacked any real atmosphere; the staff were friendly enough but not a patch on the standard of service we experienced at the Blue Lagoon.

We didn't see any accommodation so have no way of comparing the Truk Stop with where we stayed, but on our evening's experience there, we are very pleased we chose the Blue Lagoon for our stay on Chuuk.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    22
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
9
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tumon, Mariana Islands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

I travel to Chuuk regularly on business. I've stayed at the Truk Stop more times than I can count in the past 2 years. While Chuuk is a place that struggles with its infrastructure, it is nice to know that you have an oasis to come back to at the end of the day. The Truk Stop has its on bakery on premises (they even do make to order work; we had a birthday party in our office, and the bakers were able to whip up a cake for us). The Hard Wreck Bar is also a safe gathering spot after hours for a drink, some pub food, or to have a chance to meet some of the expats and locals alike who often visit. The restaurant menu is good, they regularly have specials, and at times the cooks are really inspired and whip up surprisingly good food. Last visit i had a lunch special of hot wings and a butterflied, Pohnpei peppered pork chop that was absolutely delicious. For Chuuk, that was a great and pleasant surprise.

The restaurant is very good, and the waitstaff are great and professional. Once you make a couple of trips, they'll remember you and be genuinely happy to see you. The ladies who run the front desk are also always ready to help, and Harry and Pease can make sure you get safely to / from the airport, or even go with you on a boonie hike if you want to see some of the Japanese WWII artifacts (note--it is always a good idea to bring a local when hiking around Chuuk, as most land is privately owned).

This is all due to the work of Bill and Kiki Stinnett. They are institutions on the island; their steady hand guiding the Truk Stop really makes it the kind of place where it becomes a home away from home. When i travel, "people make the place," and the Truk Stop would be a very different place without Bill, Kiki, their family and their staff.

Internet is always a challenge on Chuuk--it is getting better--the Truk Stop gets a good signal from FSM Telecom, and the wifi in their dinner room and outdoor patio is one of the better signals you'll get at a public place without resorting to buying an FSMTC prepaid card. Unless you are in an oceanview room on the second floor, you'll not be able to pick up the wifi signal in your room.

As other reviewers have noted, the Blue Lagoon is also a nice place to stay. Its distance from downtown and the airport makes it tough to get to; if you are going to be on Chuuk for a few days, a visit to the Blue Lagoon is necessary to see the property, have dinner and a drink at the bar there, and catch the sunsets.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are nice, especially if you don't normally have the option to look out at water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mg dall'abruzzo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We loved the friendly atmosphere, the colorful room with local handcraft and the excellent diving. My husband, my 4yo son and I spent 3 days at the Truk Stop Hotel last summer, and wish we could have stayed more. I had a very nice massage at their SPA after diving, what a treatment! While we were enjoying the fresh food sitting in front of the lagoon, our son had fun playing soccer with the two twin children’s owner. The owners did babysit him while we were diving too. We had an ocean front room and the sunset was superb! Wishing we can come back to have a longer holyday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corrales, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

This is the only place to stay in Chuuk, other than the Blue Lagoon which is pretty far from the town and the airport. Given Chuuk's hideous roads, that says alot.

The restaurant is fine and their coffee excellent. The main virtue is the family that runs it. They are attentive, friendly, and keep the place whirring. They are extremely helpful, and you are wont to see the same person on one of their very reasonable tours or shark diving excursions as was serving beer at the bar the night before.

It is always an adventure in Chuuk. The Truk Stop is the haven for divers from all over the world, so your social set is invariably interesting, international and engaging. I do marvel that they can keep such a place functioning in a state that faces so many challenges.

Room Tip: Try the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, fl
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I have found the Truk Stop to be the best overnight hotel on Chuuk after a week on a live-a-board dive boat. Its close to the airport, which considering the deplorable state of the roads and early check in requirements, makes for an easy day of departure.

It's very clean, with large rooms and a very good restaurant. The wifi is slow but it works and included with some rooms (I believe lagoon view rooms). With the owners present thinks run very smoothly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to dive Truk Lagoon. We spent ten nights at the Truk Stop Hotel as part of a group of six divers doing recreational and technical diving.

The Truk Stop Hotel rooms were adequately sized, clean, and had nice air conditioners. The staff was always helpful and courteous. We had all of our meals at the hotel's restaurant which serves consistently good food, but do not expect gourmet food. The bakery items are particularly tasty. We also had massages at the hotel's "Body Shop" that were so nice we went back for seconds.

Do be cognisant of the country where this is located and that you are not going to a "five star" dive resort. The island of Weno, on which the Truk Stop Hotel is located, is the only island in Chuuk state that has electricity and the island's infrastructure could be considered rudimentary by our standards.

The heart of our trip rested with those who run and work for the Truk Lagoon Dive Center, located at the Truk Stop Hotel. Rob, Cindy, and their staff provided top notch service! Our recreational dives and technical dives were expertly led and accommodated those of us who did penetration diving and those who did not. Boat rides to the dive sites were definitely reasonable, and we had some rather nice surface intervals between our two morning dives on the days we did recreational dives. We used Nitrox or Trimix for all of our dives and gasses were blended to our specifications. I understand that this dive shop is the only source for trimix on the island.

If you want to dive Truk Lagoon, I think it will be rather hard to beat the combination of the Truk Lagoon Dive Center and Truk Stop Hotel, whether you are doing technical diving or recreational diving.

Room Tip: We really enjoyed our ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

The other reviews here are pretty much spot on. Chuuk is the poorest and most poorly run of the FSM's state so it's a must to set your expectations at a very basic level. The Truuk Stop does a good job of providing clean, basic accommodation and overall okay food. It's located on the beautiful lagoon and has character. I love the long jetty and I bought three t-shirts from their pretty cool souvenir shop. The dive operators too have a lot of character - you may just see Rob with Deco the cat walking around on his shoulders. Apart from the diving, I really enjoyed the deep tissue massage available at 'the Body Shop'. I haven't stayed at the Blue Lagoon but the word here in FSM is that if you are going to Chuuk for more of a stay than a dive, then that's the place to pick. I ended up picking Truk Stop Hotel because our trip was purely a diving one, and I was not at all disappointed. I hope you make it to Truk Lagoon soon because it is AWESOME!

Room Tip: I'd spend the extra $ for an ocean view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Truk Stop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Truk Stop Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 546 | Weno, Chuuk 96942, Federated States of Micronesia
Location: Federated States of Micronesia > Chuuk
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Chuuk
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 23

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Truk Stop Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.