We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Speights Ale House

Speights Ale House
2 George Street, Timaru 8601, New Zealand
+64 3-686 6030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Timaru
Price range: $12 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Enjoy the award winning Speight's Ale House in Timaru. We have an the immense outdoor courtyard, great southern food and hospitality. Try some of local cuisine, from small/shared plates to larger meals. Private dining rooms available. Come and experience the best in Timaru!
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I USED to love Speights. Meals were always consistant and I knew what I liked & what I was getting. Hadnt been in a few months, went for a work function & ordered my usual fave - chicken parcels & they were a huge disappointment.
Used to get two parcels, menu mustve changed and you get one now but for the same price & the recipe seemed to have totally changed. Was horrible. Didnt eat it & left hungry!
Needless to say I havnt been back in over a year.
Visit was May 2012.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheSpeightsAleHouse, Owner at Speights Ale House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thanks for you review, we have since changed our chicken parcels, so I am sure that is not the case now, please make sure you tell us on the night so we can fix it for you and please post reviews at the time of your dining. Thanks Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    44
    10
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atherton, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great meal with old friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Top range of meals at reasonable prices. The lamb shanks on mash were delicious followed up by a calorie ridden dessert.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The best fish and chips and salad we had in New Zealand. Waiter was so nice too. the building is quite old. It is attached to the information center and the new Mapri museum so it was convenienent and tasty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geraldine, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Beer , average food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I love the atmosphere of this place. You can take a large group of friends and the staff are
generally pretty friendly.
Problem is, Ive been several times and the food has always just been average.
The other reviews are pretty much raving about how good the food is...maybe I always
pick the wrong thing. I dont eat much meat....maybe thats the problem.
I wont go again unless its with a group of people I really want to go out with, then it will be for the company....Not the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great fish and beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

As beer lovers we were disappointed to arrive on a holiday on which the serving of beer without food consumption was not allowed. We had already intended to have dinner anyway, but all tables were taken and no bar food was on offer. First there was a bit of a struggle because we could neither be seated nor order a beer without food, but the staff were very helpful and found a space for us and even quickly served our food before serving a large group that also had just placed their orders. The food (we had seafood chowder and groper) was fantastic, I had never expected such great seafood in a brewery pub, and we really enjoyed the different beers on tap as well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Speights Ale House also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Speights Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.