We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice motel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen on King

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Aspen on King to your Saves list
Aspen on King
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   51 King Street, Timaru 8621, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice motel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

We had one of the new units at the rear of the property. Very quiet, clean and comfortable. Nice separate bedroom, large bathroom with spa bath, cosy lounge/dining and fully equiped kitchen. Have now stayed here twice, and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    31
    6
    6
    4
See reviews for
19
28
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My daughter, her baby and I stayed at this motel for a night. The hosts were very pleasant and helpful, and the motel is well equipped and comfortable. It is clean and has everything you need for a pleasant stay. A restaurant and bar is attached, and you can order room service meals. We had a lovely dinner.

It is close to town, but not too close. Good value and I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in Timaru.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Excellent accommodation. From the first contact with host to checkout, hosts were extremely helpful. With restaurant on site enjoyed being able to eat in restauraunt then retire to room and have dessert delivered. Would happily stay again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

Work has booked this motel for me 3 times in the last 6 weeks, and I am glad it wasn't my own money as this place was less than average. The first 2 trips I cleaned the bathroom myself so that I could have a bath in the evening (the bath was full of hairs) the third time I mentioned it to the owner (along with the old food in the kitchen when I checked in) who said he would talk to the cleaner and have them re do the room - well they did but there are still hairs in the bath as I type, and when I went to have a shower the handle fell off the door!
The restaurant is very mixed, some nights are ok, some are awful - tonight I ordered the chicken and mushroom fettucine which came with brussel sprouts, cabbage carrots and other miscellaneous veg (not that I don't love veg but felt a little misled) all of which were swimming in the cream that the chicken (and 2 mushrooms) appeared to have been boiled in.
Very disappointing, will probably have to stay again for work and will not be looking forward to it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2010

We stayed at this accomdation for two nights in a one bedroom room. The room was very clean and had all the facilites you needed. However the bedroom was quite hot and the fan wasn't very good which left us with a disrubted nights sleep. The location was very quiet and of the street with plenty of parking. It was about a 5 minute drive into the centre of the town.
Overall I would recommend this accommodation, however the only downfall was that our bed was not made up for us although they serviced the room - for the price we were paying we did expect this service.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twizel, South Canterbury
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2010

I arrived late in the evening after taking my wife to the hospital and made a booking by telephone. The office was closed, not surprisingly, but I was given a key and directed to the unit. Couldn't get the lights or heater to work, so back to the affice area to find everything shut up and in darkness. No light to use the phone. Apparently, It's one of those card type keys that slot in to put on the power, I found later,. I had a cold, dark night.
The owner/manager gave profuse, if not sincere apologies. I was still unhappy. Just a little time spent on greeting and seeing to guests would have earned them a good rating.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

I enjoyed my stay at Aspen on King, for just the one night: I had a new studio apartment down the back of the complex, with a nice room, comfy bed and big bathroom with a substantial corner spa bath. The staff were really friendly, and willingly arranged a continental breakfast for the following morning, despite my asking for it quite late in the evening. There's masses of car parking, and a DVD library where you can borrow something to watch in your room if you like. Oh, and free broadband. I'd recommend this motel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen on King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen on King

Address: 51 King Street, Timaru 8621, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Aspen on King 4.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Aspen on King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aspen On King Timaru

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen on King, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.