We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grosvenor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Grosvenor Hotel to your Saves list
Grosvenor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Really good location only 3 minutes walk to the centre. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a standard double which was very spacious and clean. I am currently travelling around New Zealand with my fiancée and we both had the best nights sleep in this hotel.

We used the laundry facilities on the 1st floor which has a bizarre theme with a big picture of Winston Churchill with a green Mohican. Was quite strange but certainly added character to the hotel.

All in all a more than satisfactory stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Greetings Sir & Madam

On behalf of our whole team at the Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly for your kind words. We understood the significance of having a good night sleep after long travel and we are glad that we were able to look after you during your brief stay at the Grosvenor. Sshhhhh.......the mural is meant to be an element of surprise for our guests:) Anyhow, we are glad if it managed to put a smile on your face. We wish you a pleasant day. Do come back and visit us soon. Sincerely, Ping LIM (proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    40
    14
    7
    2
See reviews for
10
42
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Holiday with Mum. Arrived to see the historic majesty of the building. A great site to behold! Check in staff were very friendly and explained everything we needed to know like how to find our room and where things were. Free Wi-Fi which is a big plus now-a-days. The meals in the in-house restaurant were to die for. Had the pork belly, medium rib-eye steak for main.. And chocolate fudge cake w/ice-cream & also a rhubard custard tart w/ice-cream. Absolutely divine. After having that we rolled upstairs into our nice kept & cosy, reasonably priced room for the night. Would definitely stay here again without even thinking! :). Well done Grosvenor Staff!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Hi Gareth

Your kind words are truly a music to our ears. What a way to start our 2013! On behalf of the team at the Grosvenor, we thank you wholeheartedly. We are glad that you love our food as much as we do. Since my day joining the Grosvenor team, all of us have put on weight! We would like to take this opportunity to invite prospective customers to experience the amazing food here, that are prepared by our chefs originated from hotels such as Hilton, Sheraton, Crowne Plaza. We are happy that we are able to meet your expectation and we vow to get better this year and beyond! All the best, from the Grosvenor team. Ping (proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night and were pleasantly surprised by the size of our room and the location of the hotel. Our room looked over the carpark across the road but we also had views over the port area and out to sea. Very handy to town and quiet even though it was by a road. Very comfortable bed and the room and bathroom very clean and tidy. Only drawback was the loo was very difficult to flush easily. I had to use both palms of my hands to push the button to operate. Other than that, we were both impressed with the service, the price ($85 double) and the location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Greetings Madam

Firstly, thank you kindly for your favourable comments. Our team and I appreciate it very much.
Yes, value-for-money is what we aspire to provide to the public. Yes, we understood what you meant by the stickiness of the toilet flush. Some hotel rooms of ours comprise of the antique flushing system from yesteryears and we have set up a program to progressively replace the units with the new ones. Shall we say, it's work-in-progress? Our team are pet lovers and we couldn't help but noticing your username being "Catmad". Next time, if you are heading to our neck of woods, should you travel with your pet such as cats or tiny dogs, you may be pleasantly surprised to know that the Grosvenor is pet-friendly too:) In Europe, pet-friendliness is a norm and we aspire to do the same always, noting that pet is afterall an extension of our families. Once again, thank you very much and we look forward to host you folks again in the near future. Faithfully, Ping LIM (proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Over the Christmas and New Years holiday we stayed here for one night. The room itself was great - had been refurbished. The bathroom was dated but was very clean so can't complain. The lady who checked us in was very friendly. We dined in the restaurant - partner had the cod which was excellent and I had the vegetarian pasta which was nice too (nothing fancy but no complaints). Fine place to stay for a short stay. Very central to the town centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Greetings Madame

Happy 2013 to you and your family. Thank you very much for your graciousness in complimenting our team. During your stay with us, we sincerely hope that you enjoyed our southern hospitality. We may be in a tiny New Zealand provincial town but that's where the authentic publican spirit is still very much alive! We won't rest upon our laurel and we shall continuously living up to the good words that you have graced us with. The Grosvenor has been hosting local and foreign guests for the past 120 years and we vow to keep the torch burning for the next 120 years and beyond. We look forward to serve your families and friends again in the near future. From all of us here at the Grosvenor, a warm gratitude to keeping us employed. Faithfully, Ping (The Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife and I with our 15yo son in tow stayed just the one night and were really pleased. It's obvious they have renovated recently and have done a great job. It has a funky feel but with the old world charm still evident. We booked a family room and it was perfect, had separation of rooms but still felt we were all together. The room was very clean and had everything needed. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was brilliant, have the pork belly, stunning. The staff were all super friendly and it's located within a short walk of the main street. Highly recommend.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear Sir & Family

What a lovely way to start our 2013! Thank you for your nice compliments. On behalf of all of us here at the Grosvenor, we would like to express our heart-felt thanks and gratitude for your kind words. That being said, we strive harder to provide exceptional and memorable service to all our guests. May we wish you a pleasant and awesome year and beyond. We welcome you to come and stay with us again in the future. Just like the song, we ARE family:) Sincerely, Ping (Proprietor)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We only spent one night here but would have liked to have stayed longer. The room was a good size, recently refurbished in a colourful and unusual style yet the room still maintained a quaint attractiveness - as did the hotel as a whole. The hotel is central with good parking and also has free wifi.

Room Tip: The rooms looking towards the east (the sea side, seem best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Greetings Sir & Madam

On behalf of our staff at the Grosvenor, we thank you whole-heartedly for your kind words. We are truly appreciative that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback meant the world to us and only through your words that we have a yardstick to measure our performance by. We wish you a Happy New Year and a Merry Christmas. We look forward to be of service to you again at foreseeable future. Have a nice day.

Proprietor - Ping
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

I'd read the reviews on The Grosvenor prior to booking. I noted that the owners had rectified whatever had been previously complained about. So I had no second thoughts about booking the Grosvenor - two rooms for 1 night, particularly as I couldn't find another proper hotel in Timaru.

Let me say early on, that at $135 /$90 for the two rooms, it's got to be bad to get a poor review; it ain't gonna be the Ritz! The staff were friendly, there was a working lift, internet worked well, plumbing worked, plenty of hot water, a good car park and the food was really excellent. really excellent.
The Grosvenor attracts passing travellers (who are put on the first floor) and truckers/contractors who are put on the second floor. There is a large pub in one section of the building and the second floor gets pretty drunk as far as I could tell.

So, what is there to gripe about? The "Superior Room" didn't have a table or chair but the cheaper room did; we had to move our daughter out of the first room she was given because her window opened out to the smokers' balcony. I had to swap rooms with her when in her second room, an old man appeared on the roof and peered into her window, waved and walked away. The management must get a grip on the goings on arising from the pub. Also, the TV control box in one of our rooms didn't work and the work table was sticky not having been wiped by the chamber staff.

The decor is wacky. This is a magnificent Victorian building, with beautiful ceilings in the entrance and dining halls. The owners should, IMO, more properly blend their ideas on the upper floors with maintaining respect for the glorius downstairs.

That said, the Grosvenor is full of potential and represents excellent value.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiredfrog, Owner at Grosvenor Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Greetings Sir, first of all, on behalf of our staff, we express gratitude for letting us know your experience of staying here with us and secondly, we couldn't apologise enough for not meeting our usual high standard. I checked with Mel, our night director of first impression and she indicated to me that the day your family checked in, our first floor was fully booked except the two rooms that your family took. She wanted to put your family closer together but circumstance prevented us from doing that. Should we were informed earlier of your daughter's asthmatic condition, we could have swapped the other rooms around but by then, it was all too late. We have since printed out this review for our housekeeping department to see and we are to rectify the issues that you brought out as soon as possible. Thanks for that:) Also, on that night, there was a pool competition being held at Geraldine and many competitors stayed here. When you have a bunch of lads together for an outing, rowdiness is to be expected. Thus, we chose not to put your family on the second floor, where all of them were placed in. Everything that you raised for that evening are justified and noted. We thank you for your generosity and humility in giving us a four stars when in actuality, we know we have let you down. We shall ensure that this won't happen again. We wish you a pleasant journey in New Zealand before returning to Cornwall. All the best. Sincerely, Ping~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grosvenor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor Hotel

Address: 26 Cains Terrace, Timaru, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Grosvenor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grosvenor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.