We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over cooked fish” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zest

Zest
4A Elizabeth Place, Timaru, New Zealand
+64 3-688 8313
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 44 Restaurants in Timaru
Price range: $12 - $23
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Over cooked fish”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

It is not acceptable for ANY kiwi chef to over cook fish till it is dry and horrid. Service was friendly but the food was very mediocre for all courses. Lovely setting in part of an old church. Prices were average.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

Had a great meal, service was good for the amount of people that where there and very friendly staff.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Bright and breezy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Excellent choice of food catering for gluten free meals. Staff lovely and helpful. Reasonable prices and tasty food. Lovely setting in old Church Hall. Good recommendation.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Impressed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

What a gem. Have to be honest and say I did not expect an eatery this good in Timaru. Thankfully eating my words is easier if dine alongside the food at Zest Timaru!! The chicken nachos, delicious! Only to be out done by their seafood pizza. Service was excellent. Our waitress was friendly, attentive and more than happy to provide a pizza box for us to take away leftover. The place is well laid out with heaps of seating and some outdoor seating too. Prices were good. The only slight negative was my coffee which tasted slightly bitter. Was not so bad that I woundnt rate then 5/5. Will be back next time I am on the mainland. Well Done Zest!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Eat in and take outs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great food, very tasty and well presented, and even better service.
It is so refreshing to get such friendly service. Well done . I have been often

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zest also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Zest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zest, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.