We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bennys Again - yum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bennys Again

Bennys Again
312 Otipua Road, Timaru, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 44 Restaurants in Timaru
Price range: $11 - $28
Cuisines: Family Fare
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Timaru City, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bennys Again - yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We have dined there quite frequently over the past few months and have found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. The staff are all well presented and go out of their way to ensure you have a delighful eating experience. Would reccomend to anyone but at this time of the year it does pay to make a booking as they are very busy with Christmas functions.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    14
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Timaru, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Its ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

It is ok .Don't have main courses ...they are huge.Save and have the lighter options or lunchtime menu.Staff are nice

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Kayleen and her team will keep you well watered and fed in this fantastic place. This is my favourite place to eat. Garlic mussels and chicken filo are my fav foods. Be there or be square.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“"OK" for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Benny's again is "OK" for what it is which is basically family oriented pub food-big portions. Prices were reasonable and the food was ok but certainly not a "Dining Experience" suggest it is best for families with kids or blokes who like big plates of food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good food let down badly by very poor, slow service and too much noise..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

There appears to be no organisation behind the service at this restaurant. within the first 5 minutes of our arrival we were approached by 3 different waiters asking for our drinks order. Once we gave it to them, we waited around 15 minutes for our drinks, which arrived at the same time as yet another waiter asking for our drinks order. Then there was a delay of over 45 minutes from placing our food order to its arrival. Very high noise level not helped by the manager/owner who seemed to think it was her job to make sure that everything she said could be heard by everyone in the restaurant. The food when it finally arrived was quite good, but not good enough to make up for the other problems.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bennys Again also viewed

Timaru, Canterbury Region
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 
Timaru, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Bennys Again? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bennys Again, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.