We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Asure Almost there” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   95-99 King Street, Timaru, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
WEEKEND SPECIAL!
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Timaru
Bunbury, Western Australia, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Asure Almost there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We were superbly welcomed by Carl and he gave us some top tips for our short stay in Timaru. He showed us to our room which was very clean and well appointed. The only problem we found out was later that night when all the trucks were heading south, up the hill towards the motel, going through the gears. It being summer and there are no aircons, we had to leave the windows open, so night 1 was a very sleepless night, the moral of the story, request a back room away from the road. We raised the issue with Carl and he gracefully moved us to a quiet room at the back, thanks Carl.
While we were overall happy with our stay, we felt that the motel would have been tops if it had aircon in the rooms, it was a very hot few days we were there and the rooms offered no respite.
Our thanks to Carl for also doing the right thing when we had to change our travel plans and leave a day early.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    44
    18
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
21
6
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Turangi, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

We spent one night here on New Year's Day 2013. It was a walk in booking and the hotelier was friendly and let us look at the unit before booking. We decided to look and phone a couple of other places first but this one seemed the better price choice so we went back and made the booking. The unit had two bedrooms. The kitchen and lounge were spacious and had modern decor and was quite appealing. Three bin recycling containers in the unit was a good touch. Nice little outdoor grass courtyard also added a nice touch. The bathroom had a separate shower and spa bath. Well supplied tea and coffee and kitchen cutlery, plates etc. The price was quite reasonable for a two bedroom unit and we enjoyed our stay. A bit distant from supermarkets but we had a vehicle so wasn't an issue. Yes we'd stay again if passing through.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth NSW
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A lovely motel. Absolutely spotless and spacious and the two bedroom unit was fantastic. Great attention to detail and facilities in the room were in excellent order. Very reasonably priced and affordable for families. The hosts (Carl and Janet) were so friendly and really could not do enough for you. A pleasure to stay in this motel and we will definitely be back when next in NZ.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed 1night but wish we could have stayed longer. Very friendly hosts, nothing seemed to be a problem. Very pleasing to pay and not have to argue about the price, as you sometimes need to after they try to charge you more than was quoted. 10 out of 10 guys we will be back. Regards Jason and Katherine.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a relief to finally stay in a motel in Timaru that is excellent in all respects. Clean and spacious, great facilities within the room, an outstanding breakfast...will definitely be back again and again and again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

this motel is on the main south road out of timaru so is easily found and in a good location. The service from the manager Carl was outstanding and the rooms were very tidy and clean. I would look into a room further back from the main road next time and upstairs. Very good facility, great garden and very comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

good size rooms, comfortable and warm, only TV reception lets them down.
friendly service.

Room Tip: get the corner units
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge

Address: 95-99 King Street, Timaru, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Timaru
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 hotels in Timaru
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a very high standard of accommodation with the ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge 2009 complex redevelopment, featuring 17 superbly appointed spacious 1 bedroom, 2 bedroom and executive studio units. From large cosy units, ideal for the whole family, to quiet studio units, suited to corporate clients and single travellers, ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge has designed units to suit your requirements. Each unit has an extensive range of modern facilities with access units available if required, ensuring you have everything you require for a thoroughly enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ASURE Ashley Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.