We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Ashburton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashburton Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Ashburton Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Ashburton Motor Lodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashburton Motor Lodge
4.5 of 5 Motel   |   507 West Street | State Highway 1, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Ashburton
Nelson
1 review
“Best place to stay in Ashburton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Has to be the nicest motel to stay at in Ashburton, clean, light spacious units, great facilities for kids, lovely owners and reasonable prices. Its now our regular stay on the way back from Dunedin to Nelson, we won't stay anywhere else as they just pale by comparison.

The food is fantastic both quality, amount and choice I really can't rate this place high enough.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This a was a great little stopover on the way to Wanaka, after arriving in Christchurch earlier in the afternoon. The hosts were hospitable, the room was clean and spacious. The walk down the road for dinner was approximately 800 metres. Although there were plenty of trucks around, and the train line nearby, the double glazed windows really do minimise the noise.
The bed was comfy! Very easy to find, first hotel on the right travelling south.

Room Tip: Has ground and upstairs rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here over night on our way back to Christchurch. We didn't prebook, so just turned up hoping for something that would suit two adults and two children. The staff were great and very friendly. The room was clean and very spacious. It had everything that we needed available. The kids loved the spa. It was a little noisy when outside, due to the traffic and the trainline, but when inside we didn't notice it. I would definitely recommend this place again for a stopover.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked a spa room and it was very nice and clean. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. We got breakfast up in our room and it was good value and tasty. Nice spacious room with plenty of heaters for the cold nights. Our only complaint is because of the proximity to the main road trucks and also trains are quite loud when they go past. It wasnt a real issue for us but it would be if you were a light sleeper. Nice view of the Southern Alps from our room though.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Amazingly clean rooms. Loved the chocs on the bed as an extra touch. Clean and very modern. Immaculate bedding. Great playroom for kids. Easy to book and fitted our needs perfectly. Plenty of heating options kept us warm. Our unit looked very recently decorated and the carpet was nice and soft. We stayed in the 3 bed unit 4 adults and 3 kids.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My goto motel when staying in Ashburton. They have the best cooked breakfast for a motel in NZ

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011 via mobile

Ashburton is only around an hour drive from Christchurch. This is such great value if you need to stop to break your North-South journey. Room is very clean and well maintained, fairly new furnishings and kitchen, and lovely touches like plunger coffee, cookies and chocolate! Only thing is that our room was next to the highway so you could still hear traffic but wasn't too bad. Lovely owner who was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ashburton Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton Motor Lodge

Address: 507 West Street | State Highway 1, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ashburton Motor Lodge 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts Christine and Karen, welcome you to Ashburton Motor Lodge & Conference Centre, Ashburton's newest motel & conference centre offering up-market modern Ashburton accommodation and facilities. Whether you are here for business or pleasure, we will make your stay a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Ashburton Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashburton Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.