We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taylors Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Taylors Motel to your Saves list
Taylors Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE Restaurant Voucher
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ashburton
Auckland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Immaculate.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

place was one of the tidiest I've stayed in. Was only here one night, Craig on the front desk (owner) was very helpful and offered good suggestions for meals and sight-seeing

would be good base to explore the south Island & Mt Hutt for skiing

room was very tidy, haven't seen one that tidy for a very long time

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
41
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This is by far the best motel we stayed at during our travels around New Zealand. The service was exceptional, the owners hospitality was second to none, and the standard and cleanliness of the unit was impressive, right done to a complimentary espresso coffee on our arrival. I never write in reviews but this motel super-seeded all of our expectations and I need to highly recommend it to all travellers.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

I have stayed at Taylors Lodge Motel frequently over the last few months and have found the staff very friendly and helpful. The Motel is conveniently located and the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
I would recommend staying here without hesitation.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
257 helpful votes 257 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2007

We recently spent a night at Taylor's Lodge Motel, in a two-bedroom ground-floor unit, #2. Cost, NZ $119.

Rebecca the owner checked us in, in our room! She even brought us coffees which was a nice touch :-)

Unit 2 was clean, spacious and perfect for our needs. One bedroom had a queen bed and a single-bed, the second bedroom had twin-beds.

In the living-area was a large, comfortable couch and armchair, plus dining-table and chairs and tv.

The grounds of the motel were immaculate; lovely flower-beds etc.

My son enjoyed the giant trampoline in the neat lawned area at the back of the motel. There was also play-equipment for younger children.

Whilst I didn't have time to use the hot-tub/spa I did make use of the laundry-facilities. Ho-hum ;-)

The motel is an hour's drive from Christchurch airport. Very handy.

We enjoyed our stay here very much.

SnowFalling

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flipper007, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review, July 17, 2007
Hi Bex here from Taylors Lodge, I just wanted to thank you very much for your time and effort in writing this review it is much appreciated and we feel appreciated and thank you again.
Bex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Taylors Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylors Motel

Address: 770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taylors Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Craig and Rebecca Lambie with young family, provide genuine superior service, comfortable, relaxed and friendly welcome. We also offer Free WiFi and espresso coffee, chai or hot chocolate upon arrival. Taylors Motel is your Ashburton home-away-from-home. We are the closest motel to town located in a quiet garden setting facing north. Walk outside your downstairs unit to a lovely lawn area with swing seat, and bbq or enjoy the magnificent views of the southern Alps from upstairs. We have in-house meal options and restaurant opposite. We are located 1 hour South of Christchurch and a 45 min drive to Mt Hutt Skifield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taylors Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylors Hotel Ashburton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylors Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.