We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and friendly owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylors Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Taylors Motel to your Saves list
Taylors Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Restaurant Voucher
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ashburton
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
146 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Sweet and friendly owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Got a good welcome when I arrived by a very bubbly lady. She had recomendations on where to get dinner - very helpful. It was a warm evening and I asked for a fan and a few minutes later a fan arrived. Woke up a few times cause of trains, but thats to be expected in Ashburton.

Everything was clean and tidy, nice pool out the back, would stay again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    27
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
29
41
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed the evening of 27 February 2013.
Kaye, the Receptionist could not have been more helpful
The room was clean and well-appointed
Would certainly recommend to any others contemplating a stay in this delightful town

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experiences I was much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We arrived about 5pm after a long day in the Banks peninsula and the receptionist welcomed us warmly and showed us to our ground floor room. Lots of space and comfort as well as freshly made coffee if we wanted it. Bed was fine and kitchen was well supplied. We also made use of the WiFi and had a pleasant evening in the room. The only tiny niggle was the walls were a bit thin so you could hear the other guests occasionally. Overall a perfect pit stop between Christchurch and Mount Cook.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your wonderful positive feedback. Kaye who runs the motel is an asset to us. I apologise if you could hear the other room beside you all our units have thick block walls and 98% also lined with insulation as well for extra sound proofing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, Canterbury, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Due to something beyond our control, we needed a place to stay at 8.30pm on a weekday night. We went into Taylors and the lady could not have been more helpful. She was able to accommodate us and the large trailer we were towing. The rooms were great. Could not recommend them more

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
It is always a pleasure to have someone unexpectantly arrive, we are glad Kaye was able to help you and make your stay pleasurable. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had driven the 83km from Christchurch Airport after arriving from Sydney and were pretty tired and on our arrival at about 6.30pm and we were met with a wonderful greeting by Kay and a very welcome cup of freshly made coffee with an upgrade to a king bed suite, so we immediately relaxed into the holiday mode. The room is well set up, very clean and comfortable with heated towel rails and a shower only. Kay advised of several places to eat and the motel is centrally located to a supermarket. The gardens are very pretty and there is a BBQ if you wanted to cook. Outside the unit is a table and chairs so you can sit and enjoy the afternoon sun. While it is close to a railway line and we are light sleepers we were not disturbed, if indeed a train did pass by. Free internet service was also provided. We would recommend this place to our family and friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
We agree Kaye is lovely. Thank you for the lovely photos, they look professional. Thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Was a lovely, tidy room. The hosts very friendly and helpful. Only downfall was probably that trains ran at all hours of the night (close by the Motel) and I was woken a couple of time by the noise. Apart from that, (if you are a deep sleeper), I would recommend it. Pool was also very clean.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. The whole of Ashburton has a train track running through it so no Motel unfortunately can escape that I am sorry. I see you also we to Speights Ale house and had a lovely meal there. I hope you used you 10% discount by staying with us. It is nice to be able to work in with the local restaurants. We hope to see you again one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aoraki Mount Cook National Park (Te Wahipounamu), New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Ashburton is an easy drive from Christchurch and I decided to stay there for the night rather than drive the whole way back.
The hosts are great and the place is nice - a nicely renovated older motel.
It very was easy to get to Christchurch airport from there. Really wouldn't have any issue with staying there again.
Only small issue was it was a really hot night and it was difficult to cool the room down. But I think it would have been the same anywhere - it really was a very hot day!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashburton770, Owner at Taylors Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you very much for you feedback. We have had a couple of hot days lately and have fans avaialable now for those situations. Our motel is officially qualmark 4 star Plus rated for the quality of the renovations. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taylors Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylors Motel

Address: 770 East Street | Ashburton, Ashburton, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Taylors Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your hosts, Craig and Rebecca Lambie with young family, provide genuine superior service, comfortable, relaxed and friendly welcome. We also offer Free WiFi and espresso coffee, chai or hot chocolate upon arrival. Taylors Motel is your Ashburton home-away-from-home. We are the closest motel to town located in a quiet garden setting facing north. Walk outside your downstairs unit to a lovely lawn area with swing seat, and bbq or enjoy the magnificent views of the southern Alps from upstairs. We have in-house meal options and restaurant opposite. We are located 1 hour South of Christchurch and a 45 min drive to Mt Hutt Skifield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Taylors Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taylors Hotel Ashburton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylors Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.