We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Robbies Bar & Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Robbies Bar & Bistro
360 West Street, Ashburton, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 21 restaurants in Ashburton
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed in a home stay locally and was recommended here by my hosts. The steak here was stringy and tough which I could barely chew.when I asked the waitress what berries were used in the mixed berry crumble she told me she hadn't a clue. Service here is very inefficient and just not worth the visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    5
    19
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yallingup
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Maybe not the best choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Four of us dined at Robbies while on our trip to Queenstown. The food was average, rib eye steak tough as old boots, the wine prices were outrageous. $59 for a bottle you would pay $12 -$15 for at a liquor outlet so we drank water instead. Now this is just a pub bistro definitely not a 5 star restaurant. It is noisy and seems to be the local watering hole. We felt like intruders and the staff were abrupt and the service slow. Look elsewhere if you need a feed in Ashburton.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“The last time I will go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

My elderly mother and I went for lunch and bother ordered the same dish. The meat was so tough you couldn't eat it and the rest was tasteless. They have had their last chance from me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Does the basics well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Nice and warm and welcoming and decent well priced food. Staff are friendly and onto it. We had a meal there at the weekend and I can't fault this place. The food was just as described in the menu and they have lots of choice. Plenty of wine choice. They even turned the heater down when we said it was a bit warm! And turned the sound up on the rugby when the game started.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“the best pub meal in years”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

i went real early 5.25pm & within 1/2 hour it was packed- the meals were top notch & the chef works real hard to get it all out in timely manner while being the best bar meal i have ever eaten & good value for such a feast.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Robbies Bar & Bistro also viewed

Ashburton, Canterbury Region
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
Ashburton, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Robbies Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Robbies Bar & Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.