We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ashburton's Regency Motel

Ashburton's Regency Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ashburton's Regency Motel to your Saves list
Ashburton's Regency Motel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   820 East Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Ashburton B&B and Inns
Port Coquitlam BC Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay at the Regency Motel. Although the rooms might need some more updating, they were very clean and comfortable. The unit (#2) that I shared with a traveling companion was well appointed and it was great for each of us to have our own room. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. Murray spent quite some time with us in giving great directions and suggestions as we were two senior females travelling by car and having come from the west coast of Canada. Thanks again for assisting in making our vacation enjoyable and safe. We stayed here October 25 & 26th. We felt we got good value for our money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
8
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I stay away for about 50-100 nights in motels, every year. Nearly all hotels, everything is all good when i ask for a couple sachets of coffee. the next day i was only aloud 4 when you have two at a time in each coffee between 3 guys your going to need a little more. so i asked her and all hell broke loose, i understand it costs for coffee but there is no need to be rude to a paying customer. it was also very clear someone entered my room while i was out. The rooms are vey cold so i was using my electric heater in the bedroom, and again i understand it costs money for electricity, but the way they approached me was just rude and uncalled for. i'm an understating guy and all they had to do was talk to me and we could have come with some arrangement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stayed at this motel again this year on the way north from Dunedin. The room was spacious, very clean and well appointed, warm and welcoming. Had a great night's sleep in a very comfortable bed. There are lots of motels in Ashburton and this has to be one of the best. Check it out next time you pass through. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There was no hot water, bed was terrible. Shower had no pressure and only 1 heater for a large room. Owner was incredibly unfriendly and tight. Only received a $10 discount for all this trouble. For $180 a night this was definantly a poor, poor choice.
On the plus side the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,523 reviews 1,523 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 221 cities Reviews in 221 cities
3,031 helpful votes 3,031 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The Kiwis are dog lovers, and so are we.

The hospitality of the owner was much appreciated following an overnight in Wellington, the FERRY to Picton and a drive to Ashburton as we proceed to our RESORT in Queenstown!

First, the much acclaimed WINTER STORM OF A GENERATION is pure media hype!

As frequent Colorado, Utah, California, NM, AZ, ... skiers and winter adventurers, the hype is "much ado" about nothing." The FERRY cautioned waves of 5 meters! 5 meters: go to sea and experience a real storm!

At any rate, the owner greeted us warmly, and offered his best services, and we met ROSE, his prize Schnauzer.

We agree 100% with the lovely reviews of this property, and experienced none of the negative comments in previous reviews.

Room 14 is large, comfortable, clean, modern. We highly recommend the Regency to fellow sojourners!

Without hesitation, the Regency is a fine property, and the Regency is priced right. We do not overnight at budget properties or hostels. We had recently enjoyed Auckland's Novetel, and much prefer the Regency.

The tariff is appropriate for the lodging.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

My wife and I stay at the Regency each and every time we visit family in Ashburton.
We both love animals, so it was wonderful to have an occasional visit from the owners dog or cat, but I must mention, they never entered our room, they were very well behaved and friendly.
Room 11 has been our room 99% of the time, as my wife cannot get enough of the spa bath.
A super clean motel, very affordable and always a pleasant and peaceful place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, New Zealand
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Above my normal business budget however it was a lovely stay. Staff friendly and the room was excellent. Ended up with a 2 bedroom unit as last available. Very spacious and everything was very clean, kitchen very well equiped and bed very comfortable. Pool looked very nice but did not use. I would definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashburton's Regency Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashburton's Regency Motel

Address: 820 East Street, Ashburton 7700, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashburton's Regency Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our motels are Quiet, Spacious, with superior & standard ground floor units, these units are serviced daily. Three spa bath units as well as 1&2 Bedroom units avaiable, all non smoking. We are a short walk to the town centre and very close to show grounds, Racecourse, Park and Restaurants. All units are back off the road with door to door parking. A small drive to MT Hutt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ashburton's Regency Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashburton's Regency Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.