We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts Go "the extra mile", great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Hood Homestay B&B

Lake Hood Homestay B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ashburton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Hood Homestay B&B
Save
You added Lake Hood Homestay B&B to your Saves list
14 Witney Lane, Ashburton, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Ashburton B&B and Inns
Christchurch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hosts Go "the extra mile", great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

I never knew of Lake Hood, well other than there is a mini Iron Man event there this year. I googled Lakehood and found this gorgeous B & B. Booked in for one night for our 9 year anniversary, asked for early check in (normally 2pm) and that as ok, we arrived 1pm. Lovely welcome by Eric & Eleanor - cheese, crackers, fruit juice and had a chat.
In our gorgeous room was some fruit, fruitcake and also tea/coffee facilities. Comfy bed & pillows. Delicious body wash! View from the room & courtyard overlooking the canal, fantastic.
We went for a 1 hour kayak (you could go for as long or as short as you wanted). Such a peaceful, beautiful location. We had our own space, then met up with the hosts before heading out to dinner, we enjoyed a couple of wine and lovely snacks with them, we could’ve talked for hours but were booked in at the Lakehouse for dinner. I had one of the best meals ever at the Lakehouse, highly recommend! Eric cooked us a lovely breakfast. We ventured out in the very strong winds for a little bide ride. Many thanks Eric & Eleanor I will be recommending your B & B. Thanks Mel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
12
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We stayed at Lake Hood Homestay B&B on our last night in New Zealand after an enjoyable three week tour. We did not know what to expect from the description but we were pleasantly surprised to find a beautiful home on a man made lake and canal system. We were made very welcome by Eleanor and Eric and greeted with tea and cakes. Our room was very comfortable and with a view of the water it rivalled any five star hotel experience. We had a lovely dinner at the friendly local restaurant on the lake. A first class breakfast was cooked by Eric and we were sorry that we could only stay one night. I would heartily recommend a stay here on the way to or from Christchurch.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2009

We spent one night here just before Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed our stay with Mr and Mrs Weir. They made us very welcome from the minute we entered their beautiful home. The highlight of our stay was the boat trip to the Lake House for dinner - we were running a bit late for our reservation at the lovely Lake House restaurant due to the kind hospitality of our hosts and they offered to take us there on their boat which is docked at the bottom of the garden, much better than travelling by bus or taxi. Breakfast was delightful, sitting outside in December in the sunshine. Many thanks again Eric and Eleanor, hopefully we get back again to the South Island in the future.

  • Liked — Hosts hospitality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
No Ca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2008

Approximately 1 plus hour south of Christchurch is a beautiful and newer area called Lake Hood. You will be very fortunate if you get to stay in 1 of the 2 lovely ensuite rooms offered by Eric & Eleanor Weir.Coffee, tea, snacks and use of a refrigerator are included in the reasonable rate. They are the nicest Hosts of a Homestay that the South Island is privledged to have as Residents. The Weirs cannot do enough for their Guests. You will enjoy yummy nibbles and lovely conversation with the Weirs upon arrival (if you choose to or privacy if you would prefer) and they will be more than happy to make reservations for you, share information about the area and the beautiful lake that the property overlooks with its wonderful amenities. Their Guests get to enjoy it all as well as a delightful Clubhouse for dining right in the immediate neighborhood.
After a good nights sleep, a wonderful breakfast with many choices to please everyone awaits your pleasure.
We love this place and THE MOST GRACIOUS HOSTS EVER!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Hood Homestay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Hood Homestay B&B

Address: 14 Witney Lane, Ashburton, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Ashburton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ashburton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Hood Homestay B&B is situated on Lake Hood near Ashburton, in New Zealand. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Hood Homestay B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.