We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suwan Thai Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Suwan Thai Restaurant

Suwan Thai Restaurant
Shop 7, 70 Grand Drive, Orewa 0931, New Zealand
+64 9-427 6580
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 28 Restaurants in Orewa
Price range: $16 - $23
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Suwan Thai Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The meals are very filling and lots to choice from and lots of room for groups and you can hear yourself talk, the service is great and not too long to wait,and very friendly.We have taken lots of visitors there and all have enjoyed it.Will be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Overall Thai Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After sampling all of the Thai restaurants on the North Shore and Hibiscus Coast, I have to say this is the best overall. The food is excellent - not too flashy, but delicious, large portions, and a menu where anything is a good choice. Staff are very friendly and service is outstanding. The atmosphere is good - not too noisy even when busy, and there are plenty of tables. We used to shop around, but now it's a regular haunt for us. You really can't go wrong with Suwan Thai.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Delicious and gluten free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Wonderful selection of meals. Owners made every effort to have our kids fed within minutes of arriving, which was wonderful. The meals were generous and excellently prepared. I was a demure little spot from the stet, but inside was full of the Thai charm and comfortable surroundings that made us want to come back.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was ok, quite basic Thai food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

Overall not too bad. Service is fast, good choices if wine, friendly staff and good selection on menu. I would go back again if in the part of town.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another Great Thai Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This restaurant is out of mainstream Orewa and we discovered it by accident. The restaurant is actually just of the Orewa off ramp. We usually use another off ramp. Our first impression was that it was very tidy with tables and chairs comfortably situated and the decor moderately decorated in Thai fashion. We had booked for fathers' day and when we left they had about 30 diners. Service was very good with iced water arriving soon after asking for it. Two of us chose chicken fried rice and unfortunately one had too much chicken and the other hardly any. Our daughter ordered sweet and sour chicken. The dessert menu looked appetising and perhaps they had the most choices to offer. Unfortunately we were all full! Perhaps the next time. This is the only ethnic restaurant around that didn't have lunch specials with lunch being the same price as dinner. We did feel that their prices were rather high in comparison with other ethni restaurants. Chicken not withstanding we all thoroughly enjoyed ouir meal. A nice gesture when paying the bill was a $5 voucher for our next visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suwan Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Orewa, Auckland Region
Orewa, Auckland Region
 

Been to Suwan Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suwan Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.