We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't even make a booking the service was so bad.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa to your Saves list
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Tamariki Ave | Orewa Beach, Orewa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Orewa
Auckland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Didn't even make a booking the service was so bad.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I am going to Orewa on business.
After looking at their website online, I decided to call and make a booking.
The woman I spoke to was blunt, cold and rude. She couldn't even answer a simple question such as: "What are your reception hours?"
I explained that I wanted to check in while reception was open so I didn't have to ring the nightbell and disturb the managers, but she told me it didn't matter what time they were open. I still do not know what their opening hours are. This woman should not be on the telephones as customer service is paramount when trying to run a business. She either needs a holiday or a job change. I won't be staying there because if someone can't be nice when you call to make a booking, they will be worse when you stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenautilus, General Manager at Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
You are quite right and we should have been able to handle your call in a much better manner. There are no excuses and we re looking at the causes of the stressed voice that got us to this point. On the stay side of things, unfortunately we didn't get you that far. I do know that the majority by far of our corporate guests are quick to return and comfortable in their stays. I hope you do give us a whirl at some future time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
30
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

Nice apartments with good view. Note- this is not a hotel but apartments are serviced every 3days - you will pay for additional towels and you should probably bring your own toilet roll. It fell short in terms of service, and we felt management made light of our concerns. An enjoyable holiday but definitely not worth NZ$300+ a night

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenautilus, General Manager at Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa, responded to this review, January 4, 2011
Yes we are serviced apartments. There are six extra towels under the vanity and there should have been extra toilet rolls as well. Unfortunately the first we new of the Guests concerns were as he checked out, so we have been unable on this occasion to keep him happy. A quick call would have resolved all, as we are here to assist and help our guests have a comfortable stay.
Regards, Eric
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

This is an excellent apartment complex in mid-Orewa. Nicely appointed rooms and quiet enough for a good nights sleep. Undercover on-site parking. Walking distance from a number of restaurants. It is also a residential complex so security is excellent and rooms are quiet. Loved it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

We had a 2 bedroom apartment as there was four of us and stayed 2 weeks. The main bedroom was roomy with good wardrobe space - could have done with some drawers in it. The seccond bedroom had 2 single beds and was small - the wardrobe was rather awkward as the wall curved around. Everything else was great and the apartment was very clean. Bathrooms had plenty of towels and it was good to have our own laundry .

We were above the bar downstairs and it was only noisy late on a Saturday night - we ate there often as food was good and a reasonable price. Orewa had so many places to eat at and plenty of shops to check out including 2 big supermarkets which was very handy. Noise from the other apartments was never a problem. The only problem was it was quite warm and humid when we were there so having fans would be good, although we did find this problem in a lot of accommodation around N.Z. But in saying that once the breeze came and the doors were open it was quite comfortable.

After leaving there we went to the Bay of Islands for 3 days then we came back to Orewa and the Nautilus for another 3 days. As there was only the two of us then we stayed in a one bedroom apartment which had another tiny room with a single bed in it.. This time we were on the north side of the building - the views from either side were fabulous.

Staff were very friendly and helpful. We were in Orewa for family reasons as well as doing a trip around N.Z. - this was one of the best places we stayed in and we will not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Wells CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Be aware, while the views can be spectacular on the higher floors, the walls are thin and the halls heave with screaming children after school is out. And, on the weekends, the rowdy teenagers on the streets below and their yelling, smashing of beer bottles, and drag racing will make any sleep virtually impossible. The units are tiny with absolutely no storage whatsoever. The decor is in need of a freshening as, upon closer inspection, things are worn and dated - cigarette holes in curtains, stains on carpets, and "I don't even want to know" on the bedspreads. And, forget sitting on the incredibly teeny balconies, the wind will blow you off. But, perhaps all of this could be almost tolerable if the management staff gave a damn. They don't and are cold and unwelcoming. Maybe stay one night, but there are better places for less money further up the coast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenautilus, General Manager at Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
We kind of suspect this is a malicious review as we cannot find any stay by either Sam or Coronado in July or in any month at all. Freda and I have been here two years and we care a great deal about our guests. Our predominant occupancy is middle aged to elderly residents, so apart from the odd noisy guest (also noted in a review) we rate as a quiet and peaceful location. We hope you will ignore this review or come and talk to us, check us out, directly. Regards Eric (GM).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We just got back from New Zealand and we stayed 5 nights at the Nautilus and loved it! We had a one bedroom deluxe room, but in reality there were 2 bedrooms! What's great about the Nautilus is: the rooms are new, very spacious and have high ceilings and balconies, it's close to the beach and a supermarket, it's in a nice quiet town (Orewa). It was so relaxing and comfortable to be in a place that had a full kitchen and laundry IN the room! We didn't have a car, but the bus stops within a block of the Nautilus, which was very convenient. I would definitely stay at the Nautilus again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Modern complex with great views, clean rooms but with a few concerns. We were enjoying our stay until the 10:00 p.m. curfew. It was then that the problem of adjoining rooms became very, very, apparent. The bed was located right next to the connecting door and the neighbours noisy visitors (children) got quite loud. We demand quiet in our accommodations and had enjoyed such everywhere we had stayed in NZ until this, our last stay. We called reception who then called next door and the children eventually left (calling down the hall as they went). Next thing you know, the neighbours decide to put on a movie (the TV seemed also next to the door) obviously not getting the overriding message. More complaining, but never an actual visit from staff. Next day the staff offered us a upgrade to a one bedroom suite at the winter rate (for that unit) as the noisy Hunt party was not leaving for another day. I even got an "attitude" look from the twerpy offender the next day in the hall, I guess I was at fault for daring to complain. Somewhat of a compromise I suppose, but I bit my tongue when they insisted that they had never, ever, ever, had a complaint about noise - even though they freely admitted that connecting doors filter sound poorly. The one bedroom was a huge improvement and I did appreciate that the staff at least made an effort. There is a bar at ground level as well as an Irish style singalong effort down the street but we didn't hear either (not promising that you wont). Good location, near to beach, shops, and food stores.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenautilus, General Manager at Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Yes, the neighbors were certainly noisy guests that night! Once their grandchildren left they proved to be partially deaf loud TV watchers. But we got them sorted once we were advised and we offered the upgrade, so hope we sort of got a minor pass mark in the end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa

Address: 11 Tamariki Ave | Orewa Beach, Orewa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Apartments in the Orewa Beach Village, self service but surrounded by Cafes and Restaurants. Secure parking, Gym, Sauna, Spa and heated Lap Pool. Lots of walks and cycle ways, plenty of fresh sea air. Ocean views for you, come along! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Apartments Orewa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.