We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, but tiny apartments, ridiculous noise, uncaring mgmt” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa to your Saves list
Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11 Tamariki Ave | Orewa Beach, Orewa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Orewa
Indian Wells CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great views, but tiny apartments, ridiculous noise, uncaring mgmt”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

Be aware, while the views can be spectacular on the higher floors, the walls are thin and the halls heave with screaming children after school is out. And, on the weekends, the rowdy teenagers on the streets below and their yelling, smashing of beer bottles, and drag racing will make any sleep virtually impossible. The units are tiny with absolutely no storage whatsoever. The decor is in need of a freshening as, upon closer inspection, things are worn and dated - cigarette holes in curtains, stains on carpets, and "I don't even want to know" on the bedspreads. And, forget sitting on the incredibly teeny balconies, the wind will blow you off. But, perhaps all of this could be almost tolerable if the management staff gave a damn. They don't and are cold and unwelcoming. Maybe stay one night, but there are better places for less money further up the coast.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenautilus, General Manager at Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
We kind of suspect this is a malicious review as we cannot find any stay by either Sam or Coronado in July or in any month at all. Freda and I have been here two years and we care a great deal about our guests. Our predominant occupancy is middle aged to elderly residents, so apart from the odd noisy guest (also noted in a review) we rate as a quiet and peaceful location. We hope you will ignore this review or come and talk to us, check us out, directly. Regards Eric (GM).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
30
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2009

We just got back from New Zealand and we stayed 5 nights at the Nautilus and loved it! We had a one bedroom deluxe room, but in reality there were 2 bedrooms! What's great about the Nautilus is: the rooms are new, very spacious and have high ceilings and balconies, it's close to the beach and a supermarket, it's in a nice quiet town (Orewa). It was so relaxing and comfortable to be in a place that had a full kitchen and laundry IN the room! We didn't have a car, but the bus stops within a block of the Nautilus, which was very convenient. I would definitely stay at the Nautilus again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Modern complex with great views, clean rooms but with a few concerns. We were enjoying our stay until the 10:00 p.m. curfew. It was then that the problem of adjoining rooms became very, very, apparent. The bed was located right next to the connecting door and the neighbours noisy visitors (children) got quite loud. We demand quiet in our accommodations and had enjoyed such everywhere we had stayed in NZ until this, our last stay. We called reception who then called next door and the children eventually left (calling down the hall as they went). Next thing you know, the neighbours decide to put on a movie (the TV seemed also next to the door) obviously not getting the overriding message. More complaining, but never an actual visit from staff. Next day the staff offered us a upgrade to a one bedroom suite at the winter rate (for that unit) as the noisy Hunt party was not leaving for another day. I even got an "attitude" look from the twerpy offender the next day in the hall, I guess I was at fault for daring to complain. Somewhat of a compromise I suppose, but I bit my tongue when they insisted that they had never, ever, ever, had a complaint about noise - even though they freely admitted that connecting doors filter sound poorly. The one bedroom was a huge improvement and I did appreciate that the staff at least made an effort. There is a bar at ground level as well as an Irish style singalong effort down the street but we didn't hear either (not promising that you wont). Good location, near to beach, shops, and food stores.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thenautilus, General Manager at Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Yes, the neighbors were certainly noisy guests that night! Once their grandchildren left they proved to be partially deaf loud TV watchers. But we got them sorted once we were advised and we offered the upgrade, so hope we sort of got a minor pass mark in the end.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2009

This is a holiday resort, but I was there for several days on business. There are no business facilities, but there is wireless internet. Good clean apartments with good facilities, although no air conditioning for hot weather. There are no restaurants, but plenty very close by which are good. Supermarket right next door for self catering. Nice pool and there is a basic gym. Very quiet and residential, so you'll get a good night's sleep! Beautiful long beach to walk along after a hard day's work!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2008

The apartments are great at this place . We loved staying here as it was in the city centre and about a 5 minute walk to the beach .. everythng was 5 minutes walk away .

the views were also great.

The service could have been better

when we first arrived we notice there was no cork screw to open up our bottle of wine and there was only 1 wine glass rather than the standard 2 glasses . We rang reception and these items was delivered to us with in a few minutes .. later that eveing it got a bit cold and we relaised the under floor heating was only working in one part of the aparment ( the lounge) and not in the bedroom . We had no luck when tryng to get hold of some one for a heater or to get the heating to work in the bedroom as no one was at reception and when you dialed the number it went to some offsite answering service who couldnt help.

Other than the minor issues this place was very nice.

  • Liked — The rooms were nice
  • Disliked — lack of service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

Nice apartment, nice views, nice staff, good value for money. well equipped room, smelled a bit smoky though, despite asing for a non smoking room and being warned in the 'welcome pack' that I would be charged for celaning the room if I smoked in it!

Stayed May 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton, Victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

Had a sensational top floor 2 bedroom deluxe apartment. The view was absolutely amazing across the town at night with the lights twinkling, and the beach view from the balcony, both the bedrooms, and the lounge/kitchen area was breathtaking during the day. We watched the sunset and sunrise barely taking our eyes off the amazing view.
The apartment was spotless, well appointed and the staff were very friendly. Gym amenities were good and equipment quite new.
Shops were in walking distance and lots of restaurants in easy walking distance. Very pleased we decided to stay here instead of in central Auckland on our arrival to NZ.
Nautilus delivered everything it's website promised and more. Well worth visiting!

  • Liked — The view and the cleanliness
  • Disliked — Parking was confusing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa

Address: 11 Tamariki Ave | Orewa Beach, Orewa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable Apartments in the Orewa Beach Village, self service but surrounded by Cafes and Restaurants. Secure parking, Gym, Sauna, Spa and heated Lap Pool. Lots of walks and cycle ways, plenty of fresh sea air. Ocean views for you, come along! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautilus Apartments Orewa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Suites Nautilus Orewa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.