We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly and safe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orewa Beach

Orewa Beach
Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in Orewa
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly and safe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

A lovely expanse of sand at low tide. A safe beach for children. Beautiful sunsets! A great walking beach and not too crowded.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I love this beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

That says it all really - a beautiful, 2 km curving strand of white sands.Great for kids with no hazards or rips that I am aware of. Occasional surf - typical of an East Coast beach. Close to shops and cafes.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manukau, New Zealand
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great for sun loungin'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went here last summer with my family.
Was a beautiful summer day, and still heaps of parking. We've been here a lot of times, and I still think it's one of the better beaches in Auckland.
I still really like the view (driving back from Waiwera) from the mountain road, looking down across the beach.
Nice flat sand and surf, so great for young ones.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olfen, Germany
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“fantastic beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

beautiful beach, was here in November and people were swimming but not me as i thought the water was freezing. Had a long walk and enjoyed the view and the lovely sea breeze. Great family beach and a short walk to the shops for something to eat, plus plenty of places to sit under the trees away from the sun.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Awesome Place for the Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Safe, Secure and a fantastic place to take the family to swim, run around the beach or simply to sit relax and enjoy the company of those close to you. It is even more amazing when the weather is HOT and sunny. A must do in Auckland in the Summer.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orewa Beach also viewed

 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Orewa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orewa Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Orewa Beach to your Saves list