We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic food, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alley Katz Cafe7

Alley Katz Cafe7
358 Hibiscus Coast Highway, Orewa, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Restaurants in Orewa
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Description: Great little cafe, all home made food, right in the heart of Orewa on the main road, Hibiscus Coast Highway, next door to Cobblestone Fashions right opposite the beach
Restaurant details
Description: Great little cafe, all home made food, right in the heart of Orewa on the main road, Hibiscus Coast Highway, next door to Cobblestone Fashions right opposite the beach
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“fantastic food, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

convenient loc, ex food, clean, great staff. Just off the main road, well worth a visit, great coffee too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The best value bacon & eggs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The best value breakfast ever! When we were there - bacon, eggs and toast was $6.50! A good basic brekkie with fantastic coffee. Service is good and indoor / outdoor seating with delicious, fresh cabinet food.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice food, nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Liked this place. Good food, healthy portions and friendly staff. The salads are particularly good.Will go there again.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Good choice of breakfasts and friendly & quick service. Popular with both tourists and locals alike.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Permanently on my blacklist because of poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

When I last visited Alley Katz I stood at the counter waiting to order for my wife and I while two female staff stood on the other side chatting to each other, ignoring me and leaving me to stand like a fool for a full 2-3 minutes. Time that on your watch - as a customer waiting to get some service that is interminable - and absolutely unacceptable since I was the only customer in the vicinity. Having waited long enough I just walked out, seething, and vowed never to return. 9 months later that is true, and I have spent several hundred dollars in cafe money at other places. Thank goodness there is Mozaik Cafe a few metres away where they don't ignore their customers.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alley Katz Cafe7 also viewed

 
Orewa, Auckland Region
Orewa, Auckland Region
 

Been to Alley Katz Cafe7? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alley Katz Cafe7, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.