We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orewa Motor Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Orewa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orewa Motor Lodge
Save
You added Orewa Motor Lodge to your Saves list
290 Hibiscus Coast Highway | Orewa Beach, Orewa, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Orewa
Rotorua, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. Very handy to town. Great just to park the car and to walk around from there. All kind of food outlets very close. The unity was very cosy and nice. The heater was more then enough for what our friends thought cold

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    13
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night in a nice, clean, well-equipped studio. The TV was wall mounted which made it impossible to watch from the sofa so had to be seen from the bed.
Location was wonderful, just opposite the beautiful beach and very close to the shops and restaurants. You don't notice the road as there is no noise. The patio garden was a nice touch.

The bathroom had the dreaded (seeming NZ standard) wall mounted shower head but was very clean.

We would stay again if visiting Orewa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jontyorewa, Owner at Orewa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments.
The tv is on a pull out swivel bracket, sorry you didn't find how this works.
We are in the process of changing all shower heads to wall slides.
We are please you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
INVERCARGILL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We just stayed the one night while catching up with family. Very clean accommodation and great location. So close to the beach, the shops and great restaurants. Only downside really was that there was four adults and one child, and the toilet had no handle or lock!!!! Also we were given just four towels. On the plus side though, it was very quiet and the beds comfortable and warm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggin Hill
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Hi Phill

Orewa Motor lodge sets the benchmark on all aspects, excellent accommodation, cleanliness,
accessibility to shops, restaurants and beach. and to all points of the compass. Phill and Karene give their all to their guests, great folk. So good my wife and I stayed three nights. If you play golf talk to Phill, has even spare set of clubs. Thanks again Phill and Karene you made our stay most enjoyable.
Gil and Pauline Ben-Ari UK

Room Tip: Nothing to choose from, they are all First Class :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Have stayed here before and consistently good. All rooms are side on to the road - so you don't get the road noise. We had a studio with outdoor seating in the garden, just what we wanted.Literally a 2 minute walk to the Orewa shops and services. Lovely, spotlessly clean Lockwood units.Free-wifi voucher, and especially important - friendly and helpful reception.

Room Tip: I asked for a "quiet room" as far from road as possible, and that's what we were given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jontyorewa, General Manager at Orewa Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Thank you for your repeat business. We do our best to accommodate guests requests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My husband, myself and our 23 year old son stayed at the orewa motor lodge for one night on our way to the bay of islands and coming from Tauranga. We loved Orewa for its neatness, well layed out paths along the beach and the proximity of restaurants and take aways. The motel was exactly what one would visualise a kiwi motel to be like. Clean, a well layed out kitchen with everything you could need, separate toilet and shower room. Loved the pine panelling. Wifi and sky tv available too. Didn't use the spa but it looked clean and inviting. Our son had a bed in the living area and we had a queen bed in our room. Would recommend to anyone starting a trip from auckland airport or, like ourselves, for a stay over after a few hours drive.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a take away, the cotton seed oil fish and chips shop 2 minutes fromt eh mote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Got warm welcome from the owner when we checked in and the double room was really nice. Quite large with Sky TV, a kettle, fridge, tea, coffee, kitchen, microwave, cooker and towels were provided. A short walk to the beach over the road or to the shop and restaurants down the road.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Orewa Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orewa Motor Lodge

Address: 290 Hibiscus Coast Highway | Orewa Beach, Orewa, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Orewa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Orewa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Orewa Hotel Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orewa Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.