We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vino Per Favore - CLOSED

Vino Per Favore
2 Hillary square, Orewa, New Zealand
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
1 review
“Great food and great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I have been to this establishment three times whilst on holiday and have found the food and service to be very good. I have read some of the comments on this site and cannot understand the mentality. I would think that if quiet is what you are after ....perhaps you should try a library. I won't labour the point any further. All together a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Olfen, Germany
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“join in with the locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I'm surprised by the negative reviews, we went there three times, once for a drink and twice to eat and enjoyed the food, the beer selection and the company which was entertaining. This cafe/ restaurant is quite small in size and spills out on to the pavement, because the locals go there reservations are a must if you want a table inside. I have travelled all around the world and you can guarantee if the locals go there it must be good. The menu was small with daily specials but meal sizes where good and the seafood fantastic, good wine selection and a blackboard special on imported beer. Prices were average, not overly expensive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beyond Excuse”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We were not expecting amazing cuisine here, just some homely local service but we got ignored, ripped off and belittled by the staff.
It was so bad this is not even worth me writing about but you should all avoid it at all costs. As others have said in their reviews the staff completely ignore you unless you are one of their dero-looking mates who sit there constantly swearing and getting pissed. The food was terrible, what we ate of it as we left due to nearly a two hour wait for our mains. Total rip off as well, over pirced and gross. They need Gordon Ramsey to go in and shove a rocket up their butts!
Avoid at all costs!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you must”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We were in Orewa for 4 nights and struggled to find decent places to eat. This is not really one of them. I had the chicken risotto which was fine, but nothing to write home about. The seafood marinara looked good and came with a fair amount of seafood but we did not enjoyed the service or the atmosphere. It was noisy, so we were forced to sit outside, where it was cold. Their outdoor heaters did nort seem to help. We rushed back to our holtel room.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“great atmosphere great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

this is the best place in orewa food wine and service,we went to another english pup the ship wreck! the manager was so rude we walked straight out and found this little place ,Its a bit hidden but the locals all love it and i can see why!I had an amaising seafood dish and my husband had the steak both were well presented and very well priced yummy.
thanks for making our night out in orewa memrable!.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vino Per Favore also viewed

 
Orewa, Auckland Region
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vino Per Favore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.