We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great overnight business stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hobbit Motorlodge

The Hobbit Motorlodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hobbit Motorlodge to your Saves list
The Hobbit Motorlodge
Corner of Goldfinch and Wye Streets, Ohakune, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A great overnight business stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

A pleasant stay. I had an upstairs room. On a clear day you would have a great view of the mountain. Room comfortable and spacious. Brilliant water pressure in the shower! Handy to the centre of Ohakune. Host very helpful.

Room Tip: Upstairs was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    12
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
9
14
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed here for two nights hoping to climb mt doom. The room is very clean and the bed very comfortable. Internet broke down and the host was very apologetic about it. I was able to cook a freaBecause the weather was really bad, the host very kindly suggested alternatives walks that I could do and these are good recommendations. There was a supermarket nearby and I was able to make my own dinners in the very well equipped kitchen.

Room Tip: I was given a studio which is spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Our host was very friendly and was very kind to upgrade our room. There were three of us and our stay was extremely comfortable. Great cooking facilities and very comfortable beds. We woke up the next day feeling very well rested. Would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Booked the motel for 2 nights appr. one week in advance and requested a quiet room.
No problem at check-in but when we returned after dinner appr. 20- 25 road workers had checked in and were all over the place. This also included their huge machines - we actually looked directly into 6 or 7 of them when we looked out of our window.
HOWEVER this was not the worst. The worst was that between 5.30 and 6.00 in the morning they left the motel - and this gave a lot of noise including that 3 of them blow the horn in their machine.
When we asked whether they would come back the second night the answer was no. When we told them that this has ruined our sleep we were told that they would claim to the company - with whom the motel apparantly had an agreement - since these workers seem to be more noisy than others.
HOWEVER this was of no help to us who felt disappointed that we have had no information up front even though we asked for "a quiet room".
Therefore we stongly recommend other travellers to include the contract with the road workers company in their considerations.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHobbitMotorlodge, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
The group that you refer to comprised of 14 workers, and their vehicles were parked off-site on a neighbouring property. This group have been coming to this motel for over a decade, and apart from the presence of their vehicles and the noise from their early departure, they are quiet, respectful and well behaved.
We apologised to you for your interrupted sleep at the time, and passed on your comments to their supervisor.
We make every attempt to ensure that all guests stays are comfortable, we understand your second night was more peaceful.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We only stayed overnight, but what a positive impression. On arrival, the owners could not have been more helpful or friendly. They immediately offered their advice on things to do, and how we could make the most of our stay. As for the room, it was great. It was light, airy and clean. If we had any quibble, it was a small and poorly positioned tv. However, we were later told that a big upgrade is in progress, so the minor quibble will disappear. If going back to Ohakune, we will have this as number one on the list.

Oh, and a good location that is in walking distance to the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed at The Hobbit Motorlodge last night on our drive back from Auckland to Wellington. If you're dong that drive it's perfectly placed between the two cities.

I was initially a tad reluctant to book accommodation as we were only going to be there for such a short stay. Once I phoned Leigh though, I was really impressed with her care and her approach to customer service. She gave us great directions and short cuts. Requested that we called when we were a couple or hours away (Te Kuiti). We phoned ahead to say we would be late and Leigh stayed up for us to let us in. This level of service blew us away.

We got in at 10:40pm and left at 5:30am the next morning. We only wished we could have stayed longer. We fully intend to stay again and have already told friends and family to visit.

Thanks so much, Ric

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a car park outside just $119. To get value just stay longer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHobbitMotorlodge, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks very much Ric. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment so favourably on your brief time with us and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Stayed here for one night during our travels after a long walk that day across the mountains. We were greeted by a member of staff who was very friendly and welcoming. She provided us good advice as to where to eat in the town.

The place has a communal spa bath on the premises, however we never got the time to go in it unfortunately. The rooms were very spacious, clean and had comfortable beds.

Ohakune was a nice little town with some nice little places to eat. We would definitely stay at the Hobbit motorlodge again if we came back here again.

Room Tip: From what I saw, most rooms are similar. You have a parking space right outside your door and would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hobbit Motorlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hobbit Motorlodge

Address: Corner of Goldfinch and Wye Streets, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Hobbit Motorlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobbit Motorlodge Ohakune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hobbit Motorlodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.