We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hobbit Motorlodge

The Hobbit Motorlodge
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Hobbit Motorlodge to your Saves list
The Hobbit Motorlodge
Corner of Goldfinch and Wye Streets, Ohakune, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Ngaruawahia, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I am currently enjoying my second stay this year at The Hobbit. The facilities here are excellent as is the friendly and helpful service. The unit is immaculately clean and well set out. I'm already looking forward to my next excuse to come down for another stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHobbitMotorlodge, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, we're very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back for more R & R. Kind regards Leigh & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
14
5
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had a fantastic stay at The Hobbit Motor Lodge. Friendly helpful service, clean tidy room with adequate facilities, comfortable beds, lovely shower with good pressure and fantastic spa! We stayed in the lodge studio with ensuite. It had a shared kitchen which was kept very clean. Loved our stay, would recommend to others and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheHobbitMotorlodge, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you, what a great review to receive! The spa is very popular, especially after a day on the slopes. Thank you again for staying with us and do come back again.Regards Leigh & Bruce
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at The Hobbit for 3 nights and have to say the place is very pleasant.
Great location: between the town, the ski field road access and many hiking paths.
Great accommodation: Rooms are huge, very comfortable and warm.
Great staff: lovely and helpfully! I arrived very late but Leigh was still at the office waiting for my arrival.
Great stay!

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HobbitML, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Positive feedback is always appreciated, and we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time exploring this area and that the weather cleared so you could enjoy some time on Mt Ruapehu's skifields.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanganui, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This motel is perfectly placed for the slopes with really friendly staff who are full of useful information. The units are very clean and equipped with all the basics you need. The spa pool is a real bonus and a great way to relax those aching muscles after a hard day on the slopes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HobbitML, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you very much , we're pleased you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

I was recently working at Ohakune and worked latter than expected. Arriving at Ohakune at 8.45 pm we found that there were no restaurants or takeways facilaties open. Arriving at the Hobbit Leigh and Bruce went out of there way to provide food and drink from there personnel supplies to allow us to have diner which we cooked in our unit.

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HobbitML, Manager at The Hobbit Motorlodge, responded to this review, May 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comment Brian. We were happy to to help out so you could have a meal after a long day's work. Hopefully we will see you again in the future. Kind regards, Leigh & Bruce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

From the first phone call, the owners of this motel were very helpful, we booked for 2 nights with the possibility of a third night if required. They didn't ask for a deposit and kimdly booked our shuttle for the Tongariro Crosiing. Upon arrival they were more than happy to upgrade us to the premier unit for no extra cost which was very spacious and well appointed. Wonderful views of Mt Ruapehu, enough room for the four us to move, kitchen basic but everything you need with full size oven and fridge. Bathroom well appointed, great spa bath and good shower. The unit had comfortable beds with plenty spare blankets and pillows. Very clean and tidy, no odours, nicely decorated and well thoughtout simple small touches which is a bonus with a motel room. I would definitely return, we had a very enjoyable stay. Thanks.

Room Tip: Premier room for extra space great especially if tramping or skiing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We needed a motel last-minute after we couldn't get into our batch, and fortunately managed to get a 5 bed unit at the Hobbit. The unit had 2 bedrooms (one with a queen bed, the other with two singles) and an extra single bed in the living room. The kitchen had all the essentials for us to cook a good meal after our skiing.
Overall it was clean, tidy and well-equipped, and good value per person.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hobbit Motorlodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hobbit Motorlodge

Address: Corner of Goldfinch and Wye Streets, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Hobbit Motorlodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hobbit Motorlodge Ohakune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hobbit Motorlodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.