We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stays with the friendliest staff in the North Island!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Peaks Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Peaks Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stays with the friendliest staff in the North Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I have stayed here many times over the past summer and would thouroughly recomend it to any other travellers. It has great amenities includeding a gym, suana, and spa and the owners are very accomodating, helpful and easy going. I think the setting would be even better during the winter time, as it's sits quietly at the bottom of Mt Ruapehu. It's also a good distance from the town centre, as it remains quite but close to super markt and bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thanks for thinking of doing a review for us - very thoughtful! - and we were only too pleased to provide a base for you after the hundreds of miles you covered this summer. Enjoy your holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    36
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
44
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
N.Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Very quiet setting, 10 minute walk from Ohakune village. We had a one bedroom apartment, very well equipped kitchen. Slightly dated decor but very comfortable. We had some internet connection problems but owner was bringing an IT advisor in to sort them out. Owners were very helpful re the Tongariro Crossing and booked our transport for this as well as giving us the loan of some equipment. The motel is about one hour away (by minibus) from the Crossing. There was a wide range of other activities accessible from the motel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Glad you enjoyed the Crossing it's been very popular this year with many people doing it from Ohakune. Thanks for the review, and the wireless internet connection is working well with a strong signal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Reception lady was very friendly and helpful gave lots of information about walks and what to see in the area. We arrived before check in time but this wasn’t a problem she gave us our room early and wasn't fussed what time we checked out.

We had a room with a queen and single bed and kitchenette in it. Room was clean and I liked the white doonas so you could see they were clean.

Kitchen was well appointed it was the first time in our travels our kitchenette had a full stove. This was great. Seals on the fridge door were badly cracked but the fridge still worked fine.

The bed was too soft for my liking, it didn’t bother my husband. There was an outdoor spa at the end of our row of hotel rooms and a gym but we didn’t use either. They also had a washing machine and dryers for guest use that cost $2 per load. Half an hour free internet then you had to pay for it.

There is a small New World supermarket back in town on the same street. Also an information centre in the centre of town but the lady at the hotel gave us all the maps and tips we needed. There are a lot of restaurants in the town, as we were there in summer not all the shops were open, it was still a pretty little town to walk around.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi
Thanks very much for such a full description of the motel and of Ohakune, the North Island's mountain town.
RE: mattresses: most people seem very impressed with our new mattresses: we recently upgraded most of them to Sleepyhead Executive Plush (hotel grade) However we do have some rooms with firmer mattresses and can allocate them if we know, please do ask when booking.
Hope to see you again,there's more walks and trips to be done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallivare, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Very nice and helpful staff. Clean and simple room. Not the highest standard but a nice place to spend the night. Car parking right outside the room. All rooms have separate doors to the outside. Ca 1 km to city center. Very poor internet from the room. 30 min free internet. Breakfast is 12 nzd.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your review and hope you had time to explore the Ohakune Mountain Road walks yesterday. Re: internet,while our signal is strong, reception seems to depend on what devices you have, firewalls and various other factors. If any guests are having trouble they come to reception where James nearly always gets them connected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We received an exceptionally friendly welcome to this motel from Jenny, who was very helpful and gave us ideas of things to do in the area, as well as restaurant recommendations. We had a one bedroom apartment for 2 nights; it was clean and tidy and had a separate lounge with a well equipped kitchen and was excellent value for money. The laundry was only $2 per machine. Jenny was also very patient with an early morning call we received. We highly recommend this motel and will definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
We really appreciate another amazing review and would love to see you back here one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadeloupe
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

The hotel is in a calm locality. Rooms are clean. The owner is very friendly and helpful. Guided us to good restaurants and also voucher for reduction in the restaurants. Room has a good view of mountain peaks.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thanks very much for your review, we do appreciate it. Yes, we are very lucky to live in such a peaceful and beautiful place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was a great place to stay. The room is is clean, tidy and quiet! Owners are friendly and helpful.

We went to Ohakune from Welly after work in such a hurry and left one of backpacks at home. The owner lent us a small backpack, a jacket and a sunhat so that we can do the Tongariro Crossing. Thank you so much! Definitely will come back. Cheers.

Jacky

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Thanks very much for finding time to do a review for us and we'd love to see you back here,there's plenty more to do.
The Whanganui River has been very popular this year, with jet boat trips to the Bridge to Nowhere and canoeing down it. Next year word has it that the lifts will be open for the first time on our side of Mt Ruapehu, which would make walks to the glacier a reality.
Can't wait!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaks Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.