We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth more than an overnight stop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peaks Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Peaks Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Peaks Motor Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Adelaide
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Worth more than an overnight stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Having spent a night at National Park Tongariro, where there is nothing much other than proximity to the start of the Tongariro Crossing walk, Ohakune was a pleasant surprise and the Peaks motel makes an excellent base. Rooms are spotlessly clean, in great condition and well fitted out. For groups there is a guest kitchen although cooking facilities in units are better than the average motel. The central wing units have sliding doors onto a small patio where you can enjoy views of the garden. The motel is located close to the start of many of the walks in the area and is about one km from the town, making it a quiet location. Although a lot of the businesses close down outside of winter ski season there were enough cafes open to get coffee, food, Wifi and to just chill out. My only slight criticism of the motel is just having one free half hour of Wifi access even though I had a 3 night stay. Overall a town and location worth spending some time in, even in summer time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thanks for the detailed feedback ,it was a pleasure having you to stay and it's great that you had the time to look around this outstanding part of the country - you're obviously skilled at discovering off the beaten track destinations.
( Wifi: there may have been some misunderstanding here as we do issue 30 mins free WiFi each day as required.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    35
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
43
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We travelled around New-Zealand with friends, and were looking for an accommodation that is close to the mountains of the Tongariro National Park. To tell the truth I believe we found one of the best accommodations that we ever stayed in. Good sized rooms, very clean and tidy which is the main expectation of a traveller, but it was the surrounding area and staff that made our stay really unique. We got all attention that one can hope for (especially after a long drive), and Jenny was more than nice. We were really taken care of. In the morning we had our coffee by watching the Mt Ruapehu, than we went to the Station Café (recommended by Jenny), an old railway station building turned into a café just a few meters from The Peaks, had a great breakfast right at the bottom of the mountain than headed up the mountain. It was just a perfect day. We choose to stay here on our way back as well and had a lovely dinner at The Bearing Point Restaurant, also recommended by Jenny. Since we fell in love with the country we will go back again for an even longer trip, and will surely stay at The Peaks.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Wow, thanks very much! Yes we are lucky to live in a beautiful place and would love to see you back here too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We got to Ohakune and decided that the camp-site we had originally planned to stay at wasn't up to it, so we started searching round Ohakune for a motel. We chose the Peaks. Checking in late, with no notice was no trouble, and we had a very comfortable room for the four of us - there was a queen and single in the bedroom, and a pull-out bed in the living area - my younger son was overjoyed to get the pull-out, as it meant he could watch TV in bed! An excellent night's sleep for everyone set us up for a long walk in the morning. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Despite there being lots of vacancies in town (Ohakune being a winter resort), none of the motels we called at seemed particularly interested in filling rooms at a good price. We finally settled on the one which was a standard motel in pretty much every way, but overpriced for the time of the year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Most people we encounter think that $105/night for 2 people on our summer special is in fact a very good deal, considering all the facilities (and service) here. When we take a break ourselves we can never find as good a price, unless we end up in a motel much older than The Peaks.

Also, Ohakune is fast being discovered as a beautiful summer destination - and so it should be, check our website for all the walks and trips to be done from here. People from all around the world are starting to realise this: one of them told me last week "Ohakune is a hidden treasure".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My husband, son and myself stayed here for 3 nights while skiing up at Turoa.
Room was a good size with queen bed, single, table and chairs and a kitchenette which came in handy as we had planned to self cater, bathroom had a shower over the spa bath which was also used after hard days on the slopes.
Small heat pump unit which kept the room toasty and warm.
There was an outdoor spa which seemed busy after everyone had gotten back from skiiing, there was also a gym onsite (didnt use) and a drying room - which was in high use!
Probably the only gripe I had, there was an odd fishy smell when we first arrived, that went away after the room had been opened up, but then came back each day after the room had been closed up for the day.
Free wifi available (code given at check in) and snow report was posted on the door of the office early each day, no problems with check in or check out and price was fairly reasonable for what you got I thought.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thanks for your review on one of our studios.
Yes, all our rooms have full kitchens and cooking smells do tend to be the result. However I'm confident that we remove most of them -we have many methods! If you have any problems at all with your room, just let us know and we can usually sort it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My initial contact via email asking questions and getting information were answered quickly and was informative. This was also followed through on arrival at the Peaks by the couple who are friendly and helpful. The unit was clean and tidy, it was simply furnished and comfortable, we had space for all our gear. The beds clean and comfortable. As on my comment form at the Peaks, sofa bed could do with an upgrade, very uncomfortable. Ski traffic went by in morning as a quiet hum. The unit has great insulation, could not hear anything from neighbouring units. I booked the Peaks after considering overall TripAdvisor comments, cost, location, sleeping space/size. It was a good decision.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks for your comments and for noticing the beds: we've invested heavily this year in new mattresses, pillows, mattress and pillow protectors,bed covers and pillow cases. Sofa bed mattresses are next on the list.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We only arrived at the motel at 9 pm and the owner of the motel welcomed us by heating the room up which definitely made us feel cozy.

The room is neat and tidy and has a single and a double bed, it have a full kitchen so that you can cook your own meals. It also has a very relaxing in-room spa. The bathroom comes with towel and hairdryer which I only expected to have in a hotel. We were rushing off to ski the next morning so we didn't wash the dishes after cooking breakfast and to our surprise, all the dishes were cleaned when we got back. The only thing that was a bit annoying was the single bed was a bit small.

This motel is definitely worth its value, I recommend anyone who want to ski to stay here.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thepeaks010, Owner at The Peaks Motor Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thanks! So long as we know when guests are arriving, we always preheat rooms during winter: that's one reason for giving us your ETA.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peaks Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peaks Motor Inn

Address: Cnr Mangawhero Tce & Shannon St, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Peaks Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Peaks is the perfect base for visiting Mt Ruapehu summer or winter, with a great location on the main road to Turoa ski area, halfway between town and the Junction. The property features 23 Studio & 1-Bedroom Units, 2 Outdoor Spa Pools Sauna, Gym, Guest Laundry and a Drying room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Peaks Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peaks Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.