We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have your wedding here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu to your Saves list
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   194 Mangawhero Terrace | PO Box 222, Ohakune, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“Have your wedding here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

On the 30th of August 2013, my fiance and I were married here.

we booked the matterhorn restaurant during the middle of high season about 6 months in advance. we were introduced to Nicola and later Carrie. Nicola was our primary contact and made a very large, very complex event incredibly simple for us. at all times, she was clear, concise and upfront about what the powderhorn could and could not do, and why that was.

she worked with us to make our plans a reality, when she found a better way of doing something she told us, when she could save us a bit of coin or streamline things a bit she told us.

this led to the event going perfectly on the day, before and during the event we also dealt with Carrie, who was just as good to work with as Nicola. Carrie put out several small fires for us over the course of the evening while Nicola was busy supervising her staff - and what excellent staff they were!

overall, excellent food, beautiful venue and great people.

we are extremely happy that the powderhorn helped us start our married life with such a hiss and a roar!

- Alex and Laura

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    50
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
80
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Just returned home from our third stay at The Powderhorn and loved every minute of it.

The staff are so friendly, they remember us each year and give us the same room.

Rooms are great, breakfasts amazing, warm bar by the fire, nice restaurant, and a large indoor pool that is as hot as any bath I've ever had at home. Yum!

The ski shop guys are awesome and gave us a great deal on ski hire.

Next August, we hope to be back again.

Room Tip: We always ask for 3rd floor, never hear the bar, once a week a bit of chatter from the nearby nightc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our family, most especially my wife and I, will remember the kindness and helpfulness of all the staff of this wonderful hotel, but in particular that of Carrie. Carrie and her equally incredible colleague Tracey -- both of whom work the front desk, made our stay unforgettable and wonderful.

Here's one example.

Our son became ill late at night, and we asked Carrie if there was a pharmacist open that late. Of course there wasn't. Upon learning of our son's symptoms, which called for a cold remedy, Carrie drove to her own home and returned promptly with an unopened supply of just what we needed.

She gave it to us.

There isn't a parent alive who doesn't know the stress of wanting to meet the needs of a sick child and being powerless. Our son slept -- nay, slept comfortably -- that night because of Carrie, and without taking you dear reader through the challenges we'd faced in our travels before then, this simple, un-asked-for act of kindness on Carrie's part meant more to us than we can express.

I don't have the words to recommend this hotel enough, for these and other kindnesses of Carrie and Tracey. All the staff were great and friendly. These two representatives of this great hotel are special.

Bless yourself by staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I was on my first every ski trip and wanted to stay in a nice cabin type place to fit the romanticised image that I had in my mind about a ski trip. Powderhorn fit the bill perfectly.

The hotel itself really looks the part, and the rooms have that ski cabin feel about them. Beds are comfy and the rooms are very spacious with all the usual amenities.

Staff are super friendly and the food in the attached restaurant is pretty decent too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had a good trip here with my wife. A couple of downsides the building is not very soundproof, we went during school holidays so lots of kids running around etc. on the plus side the hotel staff were very accommodating and offered a new room and a complementary breakfast.

Great base to get to the mountain and I did really enjoy my stay. Next time I would probably not go during school holidays. Very clean rooms and unique as it was all wooden like a log cabin, I liked that aspect of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We visited in February taking advantage of a Grab One deal when we were completing the Tongariro crossing. Presumably due to the time of year the hotel was very quiet - which was fine by us as it is evident that hotel management are aware of potential noise issues. That said after the Tongariro Crossing I would probably sleep through the loudest bar night during ski season!

I imagine the hotel would be even more impressive in the winter months given the wooden lodge nature of it. In addition the breakfast room was an impressive bar area which I would like to visit at the height of the ski-season as it looks like it would have a fantastic atmosphere.

The heated pool was a perfect facility to soak the aching muscles particularly when you can order drinks to be brought to you!

Slight noise from the local railway line but service seemed infrequent and the hotel can't do much about that so we didn't see it as an issue.

I tend to avoid restaurants in hotels as in my experience they can be quite poor but all meals were very good with friendly and attentive table service.

All in all a very good weekend away with a pleasant hotel and dining experience. Would visit again the next time I come for skiing in winter or for the Tongariro in summer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The building is stunning, the staff we're friendly and helpful. We had dinner at the Materhorn Restauant which was delicious.
The only down side which seems to be a common complaint, is that the building is very noisy. We could hear our neighbours full concersations. BUT... this is to be expected from a completely wooden building. It has enough charm to outweigh this.
I don't think this place would be ideal if you had kids.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu

Address: 194 Mangawhero Terrace | PO Box 222, Ohakune, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combining all the facilities of an boutique hotel with the ambiance of a an alpine lodge, the Powderhorn Chateau is situated in Ohakune at the doorstep of the spectacular Tongariro National Park. This stunning alpine wonderland is one of only a handful of sites throughout the world to be given dual natural and cultural World Heritage status by UNESCO. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Hotel Ohakune
Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu Ohakune

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Powderhorn Chateau Mount Ruapehu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.