We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Old Coach Road

Old Coach Road
Old Coach Road, Ohakune, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Ohakune
Type: Biking Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Great experience. Walk and bike. We did the track from Horopito to Ohakune by bike. It was mostly downhill through the forest, some places narrow but mostly quite wide. Beautiful vegetation. Stops by the tunnel and of course the viaduct. I wasn't be able to complete the full track, as the hub of the bike broke, but was in no time picked up by the friendly crew of TCB

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    12
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Well worth the effort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My lovely lady managed this ride as her first bike ride in nearly 30 years, so no excuse for anyone not to put in the effort and enjoy the scenery. A couple of the bridges had been washed out, which actually made the ride for fun.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune, New Zealand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great little ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Ride this track often. Thought it was pretty hard going until my young fella decided to leave his mountain bike nehind and do it on his BMX. Not sure I could've done that! Some beautiful scenery, awesome down hill ride on the second half when starting at Horopito. A great way to spend and afternoon with a beer at the Powder Keg afterwards :)

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Don't belittle this scenic route!.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We started at the end of Old Coach Road, Horopito as advised by our bike rental staff. The start was flat grassland with dirt tracks. Pretty easy. We crossed over a small stream and moved into a bunch of trees. There were more twists and turns along the track with a couple of blind corners here and there. The dirt track is about a meter across. The bike will slip if you go too near to the edge. That part was still okay albeit the occasional crests and troughs. All was well until we crossed the train rails.

I have to stress although my mates and i enlisted in the army for couple of years, we still suffered terribly in terms of stamina for this track. Plus the grading for this track is just moderate. There were lots of up hill after we crossed the train tracks. The first part was pretty tiring. We figured out the gear system on the bikes and was getting hang of the track. We did however, end up pushing our bikes uphill on numerous occasions. There weren't any notable views at the front part of the track. Majority of the scenic panoramas were towards the second half of the track. And my god they were amazing. Undulating farmland meadows with hovering mist and a light drizzle. There are also pretty interesting information signposts which explain the history of the Old Coach Road. There were also huge railway bridges and tunnels to explore. (There's a single bathroom at the other side of the conserved railway bridge)

The second half of the Old Coach Road was simply exhilarating! I would say 70% downhill and 30% uphill pedaling. We were pedaling under wet conditions and had to be vary of loose rocks, soft mud and tree roots. The tracks were up to 3-4 meters wide but only a meter across at several downhill junctures. There was this part of the track overlooking farmland. The trail is cover in grass and its really slippery under wet conditions.

The downhill track ends at clearing with gravel spread all over. From there we took the main road back to the bike rental lodge. The last portion was slightly undulating, passing through farmland. (You can interact with the cattle if you wish) Its about another 6km back to the lodge. Although the roads are relatively flat, its pretty tough cos we were worn out by the Old Coach Road.

Never underestimate this route. Forums and websites might rate it as moderate, but the uphill tracks eat you up. Overall, an exciting biking adventure plus a scenic historical trail 2-in-one bike trail!
We came across several Pro downhill enthusiasts

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cross country extreme”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We rocked up to TCB in Ohakune to sign up for the ride, & they fitted us up with decent mountain bikes & helmets & organised a ride for us to start at Horopito. We began our ride at 3.00 & meandered through the well signposted track for 2 hours up & down dale. We all had an exhilarating trip & would highly recommend it. We finished our ride with a beer at the Powderkeg pub in The junction at Ohakune.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Coach Road also viewed

Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Taumarunui, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
North Island, New Zealand
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Old Coach Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Coach Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.