We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait for brunch and coffee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Cyprus Tree

The Cyprus Tree
Cnr Miro and Clyde street, Ohakune 4625, New Zealand
063858857
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 19 Restaurants in Ohakune
Price range: $17 - $27
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Tauranga, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Long wait for brunch and coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Restaurant wasn't full and there was a 40 minute wait for brunch and coffee took far too long. They were turning people away when a few more staff could have made a difference I am sure to client satisfaction and the cafe's profit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    22
    12
    5
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waihi Beach, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't bother - go to the Powderkeg”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have a bach in Ohakune and were looking for somewhere different to have a celebratory birthday lunch. We went in at midday and booked the table in front of the fire for 12.30pm. When we returned, the table was in the same dirty condition it had been in at 12pm but with a reserved sign on it. I can't comment on the food as we walked out before ordering due to disinterested staff and dirty tables that we asked to be cleaned but were ignored. The management need to get the basics right. There were 6 of us in our party for lunch but their loss and the Powderkeg's gain.
We won't be returning here and we will tell everyone we know not to bother. We wouldn't recommend it for lunch. Maybe they have their dinner service right as per other reviews but lunch was a disaster and the staff were so disinterested it wasn't funny.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst cafe experience ever-avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Not sure where to start,but here goes: Went there for sunday brunch.

No welcome on arrival, went and asked for menus. Their method of operation is that if you want anything, you go up to the counter-there is no table service.

Table was filthy which wasn't a problem at first - we figured we would ask to have it cleaned when we went up to order. Instead we were just given a cloth and expected to do it ourselves!!!!!!!!! There was a table next to ours that remained filthy for the whole hour we were there, despite staff walking past numerous times.

Waited 20-30 mins just to get our coffee and then another 15 for the food. Staff seemed like they couldn't care less, and didn't want to be there.

When our meals were delivered to the table there was no cutlery provided, We were looked at like we were insane, when one of our group asked for this. Were we expected to eat with our bare hands???

In terms of atmosphere, the cafe looks very modern and welcoming, however they seemed to only have 3 songs that they keep repeating over and over. Maybe this is a ploy to make sure that we don't stay too long?

To top it off, my wife is gluten free. She specifically ordered a gf meal, yet was vomiting 20 mins later ;(

The only positive thing I can say is that the food and coffee tasted fine, but our morning had been wrecked by this point.

This place is a joke. They can't even get the basics right, and don't seem to care. I can see why they make you pay up front when you order, as we would have just walked out otherwise. I wouldn't be surprised if other people have done this.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Best food in Ohakune, after a week trying everything.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We've been eating out in Ohakune for more than a week now, and this is the best food we've had.

The interior is a bit discouraging (a slightly echoey shoebox retail unit), although there is a gas log fire which adds some atmosphere. The service is friendly which makes up for a slightly slow delivery, but in the end it's about the food. It's remarkably good, "Italian inspired" fare. Far and away better than anything else we could find in Ohakune (including both the restaurants in the Powderhorn Chateau).

Just for the record, the place is called the Cypress Tree (not Cyprus).

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We had dinner here on two nights. The Sumac lamb was to die for. The Scotch fillet was really tender and juicy. We also had the mushroom risotto with roasted pine nuts it was really very good.
If you want good food, and home made mulled wine this is the place to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cyprus Tree also viewed

Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
Ohakune, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to The Cyprus Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cyprus Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.