We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money and exceptional service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ohakune Court Motel

Save Saved
You added Ohakune Court Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ohakune Court Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Ohakune
Auckland
1 review
“great value for money and exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

The unit contained all the basic facilities and was spic and span. Just what we needed. Service was the stand out though. When I made the booking Donald had all the information we needed about walking on the mountain. Then I left a bag behind when checking out of the motel, and Donald went to a lot of trouble to arrange for this to be delivered to my home in Auckland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, March 10, 2013
Thanks Alister for your feed back
Only too happy to provide information about walking up the mountain or any other trails in our area. I've been up in the winter and summer time.
No problems with sending your bag back to you, it’s very common for guests to leave items behind.
Hope to see you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

This accommodation is highly recommendable. The receptionist (I guess Donald) was friendly and very informative upon our arrival and gave us tips on how to spend our time in Ohakune (walks, tours on the Wanganui River, etc). The room was very tidy and sufficiently well equipped though a little dated (this was no drawback at all given the affordability). They gave us a voucher for 200 MB of wireless internet usage for free as well which is in my opinion okay. Other places we stayed at would only give 50 MB or even 20 MB for free. Coin laundry was available as well. They expressed flexibility as to check out times or internet usage, that is, a little longer or more, respectively, would be no problem. I guess this is more than one could reasonably expect for this price level. Make sure to do a nice evening walk over the bridge close to the motel and along the river at dusk (it's so beautiful!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our service and are only too happy to suggest some of the many things to do in and around Ohakune. Once again thanks for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed two nights at the motel. Donald, who I presume is the owner, treated us like family bringing us fresh out of the oven muffins to our room to welcome us and helping us get our hike through the Tongariro Crossing set up. He has a friend that drives a shuttle to and from the mountain, who is also extremely friendly and accommodating! We stayed in a very reasonably priced room with a king sized bed and a breathtaking view of the mountains. There's a great little spa tub there for relaxing after your hike. I wouldn't really say the hotel is "just outside of town" it is still in town, but nicely nestled on the edge so you can walk anywhere but it is very peaceful too. We would highly recommend the Ohakune Court Motel, we still talk about how comfortable the bed and pillows were compared to other places we stay. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and have everything you might need. Check it out!

Room Tip: King size, Mountain view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us.

We’re glad you and Eric enjoyed your 2 night stay with us. The Tongariro Crossing is a very beautiful walk and I recommend it to all guests who love hiking, also all the other walks in and around the Tongariro National Park.

Our Premium King units are worth the extra cost and you won’t be disappointed with the Views from any of Our Mountain View units.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The rooms were excellently decorated with everything that was needed for the stay. Donald was very helpful, a pleasure to talk to and knowledgable about the area, suggesting walks that we would enjoy and supplying maps.
The service could not be faulted and I certainly hope that we will return in thr future

Room Tip: Motel is just out of town so is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks Phillip for reviewing our property.

We pride ourselves on our friendly, personalised service and are pleased you experienced this when you stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

This motel is just out of the town but walkable in 15 mins. The room was large enough but looks a bit dated. It was clean and comfortable and had a good view of Mt Ruapehu. The TV worked well as did the free Wifi connection. It's fine for one night but you wouldn't want to stay longer. The receptionist was very helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We pride ourselves on our friendly, personalised service and are pleased you experienced this when you stayed with us.
Unfortunately our premium rooms weren’t available the night you stayed, these may have suited you better if you prefer newer furnishings.
Our guests enjoy our central location 900m from the centre of town. Next time you’re in town we’d love you to view our premium rooms as these are popular with our regular guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great action packed four day weekend with Donald Ohakune Court Motel owner such a helpful host providing transport when required and plenty of local information. Lots to do with good walking tracks close by as well as town and good restaurants. Caught the train from Wellington, trip on Whanganui River next day, hired mountain bikes and spent next two days exploring mountain road and Old Coach Road all with the help of Donald. Motels very clean and comfortable.. The train back to Wellington an hour late but didn't matter as we sat on the railway station drinking coffee and talking to very friendly, hospitable and helpful locals. Some good bush walks and we need to go back for some fishing as ran out of time, so much to do. Our grandchildren were impressed to see photos of us on bikes!

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Hi Neil, thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to have you and Mary stay with us for the 3 nights.

Ohakune has many walking tracks and bike trails and we have experienced them all.

We are only too happy to discuss this with our guests.

Hope to see you both back in the near future and we’ll help find you a good fishing spot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This hotel is a basic hotel. But looking at the price/performance it offers good value. The room offers sufficient space. We missed a bedside lamp making the light in the room at night rather cold. The breakfast was disappointing. The hotel is located outside the center of the town. Going to a restaurant means a long walk or a short drive (which means no alcohol).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to supply us with your feedback.

We like to think we offer good value at the Ohakune Court Motel.

The bed side lamp had been removed because of a blown bulb which has since been put back in the room, sorry for any inconvenience. If anyone does stay with us and something isn’t in the room that you think should be please let us know so we can rectify any issues, we want you to enjoy your stay with us.

The cooked breakfast is something we offer as it is sometimes more convenient than going to a local café. We are not chiefs and do our best, it is a home cooked breakfast. We have about 4 cafes in town which are open for breakfast.

We are about 900 meters from either the town or the Junction. We can arrange to drop off and pick up guests if required.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohakune Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohakune Court Motel

Address: 101 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohakune Court Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohakune Court Motel has 18 self-contained units and most have mountain-views. Our units have ample heating,electric blankets and Sky TV. We offer private spa pool, BBQ, wifi, free DVD library with over 300 dvd's, sunny courtyard where you can relax. We are short a distance to scenic walks and mountain bike tracks. We can assist you with reccomendations on the tracks in our area. In addition, Ohakune Court is within walking distance from the city center where you can find supermarket, bars & restaurants, cafes and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ohakune Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohakune Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.