We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family friendly, clean and welcoming!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ohakune Court Motel

Save Saved
You added Ohakune Court Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ohakune Court Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   101 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Ohakune
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Family friendly, clean and welcoming!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

We spent two nights in a two bedroom unit which had a glorious view of 'the mountain'. Donald was friendly and welcoming; he obviously knows the area and was generous and forthcoming with information and maps. The reception office stocks dvd's and games for children, the unit was recently renovated, spacious, and spotless. We were very impressed by the amount of crockery and kitchen gear. Our personal preference is for a more abundant, generously powered shower, but we are very aware that for $150/night we were getting an absolute bargain in a brilliant location. We will be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    41
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
43
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012 via mobile

Ohakune is a great base to explore the volcanic area of central North Island. The town was very quiet (which is apparently quite different from ski season) but had everything we needed. At the Ohakune Court Motel we were upgraded to a mountain view room on arrival. The room was large and well appointed with stove and micro wave. The video library was free and welcome when the weather changes. Our host was very friendly, helpful and informative. The view of Mt Ruapehu from our room (when the cloud cleared) was spectacular.
The location was perfect for bush walks, exploring the mountain and relaxing.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

We visited the Ohakune Court Motel for one night in Feb 2012 based on the positive Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed.

Check-in was very friendly, we were given a map of Tongariro National Park and were recommended a walk to the Waitonga Falls which was fantastic. We then had dinner in Ohakune at "The Mountain Rocks" bar which was great too. I just wish we had the time to stay longer and explore the area more!

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Book directly on their website and you will receive a free wi-fi token - was very useful for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy toknow that we didn't let you down. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you guys on your next adventure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011 via mobile

Our visit was between Christmas and New Year, so while the town itself was fairly quiet (only The Cypress Tree open for dinner) the motel was open. Like many others we chose it for the winning reviews and were not disappointed. A great location close to the riverside walk, quiet and surrounded by birds with awe inspiring views of the snow capped mountain. Room was v comfortable with plenty of space and a well equipped kitchenette. We borrowed a free DVD for the evenings entertainment too. Highly recommended - you will be comfortable here.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. Hope to see you on your next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Although basic, the Ohakune Court Motel has what you need and the owners have done a great job providing clean, comfortable rooms with lovely views. We have stayed twice with our 6 year old (added bonus was the flat-screen TV for watching the Rugby World Cup final when we happened to be in Ohakune that night, as we don't have TV at home!) and have been happy with it as a ski base. Just booked a 3rd visit for a Tongariro Crossing stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear that you had a good experience. Hope to see you on your next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Pleasant surroundings. Refurbished rooms. Traditional NZ Motel style. Great hot tub.
Welcoming host. No downside.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have mountain views. So do 2 bedroom units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Great family (or group) accommodation, very well priced for a clean, comfortable family room. Yes, furnishings were a little dated, but the kitchen was well equipped, shower was hot (there were 4 of us showering), beds were comfortable & there was plenty of room for us to spread out. The unit had been recently painted & new kitchen cabinets etc installed.
The hosts were friendly & helpful, and the location is quite good, being a comfortable 15 minute walk to the town centre.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohakune-Court-Motel, Owner at Ohakune Court Motel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write your review and we are happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities. We pride ourselves on our service to make sure our guests have the best experience. Hope to see you on your next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ohakune Court Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ohakune Court Motel

Address: 101 Goldfinch Street, Ohakune, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Manawatu-Wanganui Region > Ohakune
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Ohakune
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ohakune Court Motel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ohakune Court Motel has 18 self-contained units and most have mountain-views. Our units have ample heating,electric blankets and Sky TV. We offer private spa pool, BBQ, wifi, free DVD library with over 300 dvd's, sunny courtyard where you can relax. We are short a distance to scenic walks and mountain bike tracks. We can assist you with reccomendations on the tracks in our area. In addition, Ohakune Court is within walking distance from the city center where you can find supermarket, bars & restaurants, cafes and cinema. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Ohakune Court Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ohakune Court Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.