We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good but not quite 5 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 5218, Fujairah, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Fujairah
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very good but not quite 5 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed at the Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort in August 2013 for 10 days.

The hotel itself and the grounds are really beautiful and well maintained, much more attractive than the Meridian tower block down the beach. The beach is extensive and clean with no oil.

I cannot understand other reviews criticizing the staff. We found everyone extremely helpful and friendly and both of us felt that the helpful and professional attitude of all the staff made our holiday such a success, especially the manager, Alexandra, Jule and Ali Khan in the main restaurant.

We also found the check in process quick and prompt and we were shown to our room within 10 minutes of arriving. The room was clean and properly prepared. Checkout was also quick and professional. On the several occasions when consulting the front desk for information and checking my account etc, I found them friendly and very helpful and were never rude.

We were all-inclusive and dined in the main restaurant for our stay. We found the food excellent on quality, taste and the selection for lunch and dinner was different every day. Over the 15 years of travelling the middle and far east and staying at many 5 star hotels, I would rate the food at this hotel at the top of the list for quality.

The pool was excellent and cleaned every day in the early morning. We usually ordered drinks around the pool and found the service first class. The arrangements for towels around the pool was similar to other hotels we have stayed at and was perfectly reasonable.

The area in which the hotel was definitely not 5 star was the room cleaning service. This was often slow and the room was not cleaned until late in the afternoon on several occasions.
Some of the towels were obviously near the end of their life.

The only other criticism I have is that all internet access is chargeable including Wi-Fi and the use of a PC in the business centre. The speed of the internet was also slow.
In most 5 star hotel we have stayed, internet use in the business centre is free even if there is a charge for Wi-Fi.

To sum up my review of the Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort, the hotel grounds, check in and out, staff attitude, cuisine and pool are all 5 star but the hotel really does need to look at it's room cleaning service and the internet charging if it is to be worthy of an overall 5 star rating.

I find other reviews criticizing the staff and the food somewhat suspicious as they are completely at odds with our experience.

Overall we had a really excellent and memorable stay at this hotel and would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: Pool and sea view rooms are best. Some garden view rooms have a poor outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    294
    184
    82
    40
    15
See reviews for
212
230
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is a very nice resort, with a great pool, beautiful beach with beach bar for perfect sundowners, but the place is let down by the staffs attitudes. There are a few exceptions to this, but 90% of the staff we encountered had attitude and were ineffective. All the same, We would come back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We arrived on Time , 1 hour for check in , another 1 hour for the rooms to be ready and additional half hour go the luggage to reach the room ......
1 hour for check out but this time I carry the luggage my self .
You need to review the bill , as I was charged doubled and it seems I'm not the only one who had the same problem .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

it was the worst vacation i had since 5 years .i had one worse in istanbul to be honest..
miramar is a hotel lacks of trained staff ,no attention to details and no initiative staff ,they are arguing and rude some times specially at reciption area.
I personally called to book for my wifes birthday ,on 19th and 20th of august.its normal to keep calling and yu hear the phone ringing with no reply.they promised me with a surprise by arriving as it was her birthday and i never got it.my room was garden view not pool view as i was promised to get ,room 1132 small and stuffy(not a 5 stars hotel room) .i was not given by the reciptionist any pool cards for towels as i arrived by 18 30 pm and she claimed that the pool will be closed at 7pm so no need to get them today however i found out that there is another pool still open till 9 called closed pool.by calling her back she sent the toweles keys with no explaination
-same reciptionist rejected to give any information about any activity in the hotel she just said its in your booking voucher.she was really rude.by asking her for any thing they may do to surprise my wife she said tommorow we ll let you know.
there was a chewing gum next to my bed left from other customer.a picture was taken and showed to the manager.
breakfast was busy u need to wait if u come after 9 to get a table and u need to accept the idea to help your self by picking some cutleries from other tables better that waiting the staffwho were little in number and running every where .
tea was cold and cups brought with no tea spoons.
the staff were friendly in restuarant but really cant cove all the customer demands.
amer and alexandra were remarkable staff and tried to do some change in my stay there.
the pool is very big and nice but again the staff are not there ,no service for drinks.no ice at pool bar.
by meeting the manager i asked to prepare some cake (paid)and champagne (paid) for tonights birthday,she was helpfull with that
-however as im working with airlines service since 9 years and now im managing staff and customers and fix customers issues on board i know that the manager is not really doing her best to change things or her resources are little or she is not a decision maker at the end of the day
briefly
rude staff at reciption (not all) only some where i gave the name to manager
-no surprise was done like any respectfull hotels.
-its not 5 stars hotel service in general
the staff came behind me while my wife was just starting cutting the cake to sign the bill(they cant wait a moment)
the cack was with no candle they even did not put one if i dont pay(it was the only thing i forgot to ask and pay for it)
by checking out and as emirates platinum card holder i should get a discount of 30 percent but i got just 20 percent .no idea why and didnot want to argue with that .bills are still there i didnot collect it so they can check and find out my totall bill and the discount i got.
thats all about it ,i was more than honest with tha even extra positive
keep well

Room Tip: you need to let the staff repeat three times your room location ,i was told its a pool view however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We were disapointed all round and spent most of our time at the Le Meridian up the road. Stayed here 3 nights and were booked into the Al Dhow suite. Check-in was poor, we were not told all the benefits of the suite and the eastern european manageress seemed little bothered or supportive to us as customers. There are 3 bars, one located inside the main hall (lobby) which is extremely boring with lavish furniture and poor entertainment. The pool bar is situated outside the pool so there is no seating area for adults who want to sit in the water by a pool bar and enjoy a cocktail. Service by the hotel waiters and staff were as expected for a highly rated hotel and here there are no complaints. To be honest you will be better off staying at one of the neighbouring hotels like Rotana or Le Meridian.

Room Tip: To be honest you will be better off staying at one of the neighbouring hotels like Rotana or Le Meri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We have booked in 2 rooms and on our day of arrival, we were told that our rooms were not ready and would take about 1 hour to get the rooms. We were told we could use their facilities until the rooms were ready. It was at 3.15pm. We got the first room after 4pm after we went to check on the rooms status ourselves when they were supposed to inform us! We got our 2nd room at 6pm after had to call front desks several times with no updates when we finally decided to speak to the Manager!!! The room was just next door to our 1st room and we had seen the room with no cleaners. Then what was the reason they told us the room was not ready?! We felt this hotel was just fooling the customers and from what I have read on other reviews, they had the same experiences!! The front desk was really messy with no proper organization attitudes and lack of customer oriented skills. Since they gave us late rooms, we requested for the time compensation for late check out and agreed to it. Surprisingly, on the next day, they called our rooms at 12.20pm to ask us if we were ready to check out. WTH???!

Additionally, in the 1st room, there was a blockage problem in the sink, where the water was leaking from the top part of the mirror just like waterfalls. As we only stayed there for a night, we care less to inform the concern department as we knew they would take decades to solve the problems. We are not so happy with the services offered. Restaurants? Not much choices and extremely expensive! We walked in one of the restaurants (Sensasia) and found out the ambience was too dark with red lightings and found out that they are serving porks which is not good for the Muslims customers. So a BIG no to this restaurant. Dinner buffet was average but if you don't have the room package with dinner, the prices are not worth at all. Their charges are very high. If you have a car, there are pretty good selections of dine restaurants outside with approximately 20 minutes drive. Additionally, we found an opened water bottle which was placed in our 2nd room and not proper of bedding arrangements as if there was someone that sat on the bed and had drank the water before the customers arrived. The queen bed was not a one piece queen bed, it is two beds that are attached together. This is so disappointing. Oh one more thing, our rooms key cards took ages until they worked!! We had call the concern dept regarding this but no one arrived to solve the problem. Finally, we had to use our terrace sliding doors to get in the rooms!

Kids pool was without sun shed. It would be better if there was a shed but they have pretty good numbers of lifeguards around the pool and on constant watch.

We admit that having had the rooms facing the ocean directly was pleasant and nice. We are happy about it. However, if you are looking for better services, choose the neighbouring hotel. We have stayed in one of the neighbouring hotels and found it better than this. Sadly to say, we think we will not come back to this hotel next time unless they improve the way on how they manage the check in process, all kinds of services and maintenances.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for three nights in a superior room overlooking the pool. I do not want to sound like a typical expat who expects the world, I just want value for money and although there was a lot to like about this hotel, the rooms and pool are excellent. The overall service was not as good as some of the other 5* resorts in the UAE. Our room was not ready until an hour after check in. The food is average (we had buffet dinner every night), the breakfast is better. Housekeeping were inconsistent, no towels on second day, nowhere to plug in the kettle were just two issues we had. Finally, the hotel expect you to pay for WiFi. Not only that, but when you do pay, it only works in your room and for one computer only. As we were paying 5* prices, I did find this a little much. This is a shame, because the location, rooms and beach are all excellent. However, there are better 5* options elsewhere in UAE.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort

Address: PO Box 5218, Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Fujairah > Fujairah
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Fujairah
#6 Spa Hotel in Fujairah
#8 Luxury Hotel in Fujairah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Hotel Fujairah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Iberotel Miramar Al Aqah Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.