We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location .. bit expensive..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort to your Saves list
Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Aqqa | PO Box 659, Fujairah, United Arab Emirates   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Hotels in Fujairah
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice location .. bit expensive..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2011

We booked this hotel through friend of friend .. so it was my 1st visit & stayed for 1 night during day holiday. We stayed at 2 bedrooms apartment and I believe its part of the new extension of the hotel. The rooms and bathrooms are standard with basic items, clean and wide with the balcony looked over the beach which was nice view. I loved the entrance to the apartment’s area which is beautifully done; the yellow flowers during daylight simple yet created beautiful coloring contrast.
The hotel over all nice and family oriented walking through it you’ll notice many kids facilitates such as different playing areas and swimming pool. The beach is clean and private with small rocky island the opposite side. If u are not good swimmer be careful when swimming as some area is shallow and other deep, life guard available but u need to be alert. I believe the hotel provide diving and kayaking facilities which are good. Looking to the chalets from outside they seemed kind of outdated and small.
My only negative for this hotel its overlay priced for the services. I feel the service can be much better as they were very slow and most of the time no response … we had to do many things by our own. The rooms are basic and personally I feel its bit expensive for its value…with same price we could have stayed at 5 or 7 stars hotels nearby with much better services and facilitates.
Overall its nice place and might stay there if the price is reasonable….

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    84
    48
    18
    13
See reviews for
95
51
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Do not be fooled by the pictures on the website - this hotel and resort should be avoided at all costs! They charge 5 star rates but the experience borders on camping.
Good beech and swimming area, but the self catering chalets are a dump. Small, old, dilapidated, smelly, with a shower and toilet smaller than a regular toilet.
Swimming pool is small.
This place reminds me of a bad motel in the 70's - but with a 2010 5 star price tag!

Avoid, avoid, avoid.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Does not look like much from the street but after you go thru the gate and see what is inside you will think this place is great. All you people that give it low scores must always stay in 5 star hotels and the person that said they had to place used toliet paper in the waste basket, you are unbelievable. My wife and I stayed there the day/night before UAE National Day and had a great time. Thousands of fish to see snorkling and even got to see a sea turtle, very nice. We stayed in the hotel portion but also looked at a chalet both of which were nice. All you people on here that say it was dirty must live in a sterilized bubble. Yes there may have been a little sand but what do you expect, YOUR ON A BEACH!!! Our room was very clean no sand or mold, unlike some hotels I have stayed in in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. I will definitely be going back again and again. The food was also good. Try the shrimp and steak you won't be sorry. No I do not work there. BenL

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We went to spend the day in this resort to have access to Snoopy Island. The place was dirty at a level that you could believe: I found a sanitary towel on the shower floor (disgusting!) and the beach was full of empty bottles of vozka and beer from the night before that nobody clean up. I wouldn´t recomend anybody to stay there.
Location and views are good though, just in front of Snoopy Island, but you can stay in the public beach next door and avoid the sanitary towels on the floor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

We rented a "self catering" 2 bedroom chalet for 5 nights and checked-out after the 1st night. Bathroom smaller than a maids bathroom and absolutely revolting. Beds hard as rocks, airconditioners (and therefore whole chalet) smelt of badly of mould. No cooking utensils for self catering (provided with a kettle and a BBQ, but you had to pay Dhs20 for the bags of charcoal). One towel rail for 5 guests. Restaurant charging 5 star hotel prices, for very average food. Pool towels were thread bare, stained and faded. At Dhs1200 p/n we were extremely disappointed and thought money could be better spent elsewhere. Suggested price Dhs200 p/n - maximum. Don't waste your money! Owner should be ashamed. Hotel stuck in 1960s/70s, but prices very much in the 2010s!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found it to be perfect, compared to the other hotels in the region. The beach with the little Island was nice for snorkling, although we had the "red alges" in the sea water, which was smelly and looked dirty. This has nothing to do with the hotel, but still, it was the only downside. The food, room, swimming pool and staff was all perfect. I recommended this hotel to my parents, who live in Oman and they visited this hotel a few months later and found it to be horrible. This was due to a large group of Russians visiting the hotel, getting drunk and making a lot of noise. So it really seems to depend on the period you are going and the type of guests visiting this hotel. I would still recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

My wife and me use to go very often to Sandy Beach because of its location (Snoopy Island and all the fishes). We came from Dubai and never stood overnight . Coming in the late morning hours, leaving in the early afternoon. The entrance fees for visitors are quite tough (75 Dirhams =15 Euros). But when it comes to restaurant and/or bar service they always fail. We have to admit, the staff is always friendly and trying their best...but this is far away from what you might expect from a 3 star hotel. When it comes to orders of more than 3 items it always becomes a mess... The prices they are asking for are huge and it becomes worse after receiving the bill with 20% on top for service charges. However, this weekend we decided to spend a night with friends. According to the pictures on their homepage the rooms seems promising...... What we found was a joke...(maybe I can laugh about this in some years).... This hotel deserves not more than 2 stars. The rooms (we booked 3) were smelling and are in a condition you would expect in a 3rd nation country. Beside the very poor quality of the rooms (work finishing) it is not allowed to put used toilet paper into the toilet. Therefore is a waste bin placed beside the toilet where they ask you to put your used toilet paper into....just disgusting!!!
This was for sure the last time we had been there!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort

Address: Al Aqqa | PO Box 659, Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Location: United Arab Emirates > Emirate of Fujairah > Fujairah
Amenities:
Beach Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Fujairah
#5 Family Hotel in Fujairah
#9 Luxury Hotel in Fujairah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandy Beach Hotel And Resort
Sandy Beach Hotel Fujairah
Sandy Beach Fujairah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandy Beach Hotel & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.