We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely welcome, great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metin Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Metin Hotel to your Saves list
Metin Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Maras Mah. Sulungur Cad. No:6, Dalyan 48840, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Dalyan
Hook, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Lovely welcome, great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

This one definitely plays above it's star rating. Staff are lovely, try so hard to please, and always a smile for you. Rooms were spacious, comfortable, nicely decorated, with balconies although some views are better than others, very clean, well presented, shower was good and air con, even if you pay extra for it, was very good, nice chill. The pool is very nice, warm, clean and good depth, and nice to sit in the bar areas to write reviews. Had a few wifi glitches, but resolved quickly. Bar snacks were good as were the meals we had at the hotel and very reasonable. Safes are too small to be useful. Location is Excellent!!! Right in the heart of everything, but as others have said, no noise and no trouble. Definitely recommended!!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    66
    28
    8
    3
See reviews for
75
112
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The metin is right in the centre of Dalyan, a perfect location. We are staying in one of the appartments there. The appartmenst are very good, better than I expected for 2,5 stars. I thinks it deserves better than that. A cleaning lady comes in every day (lovely lady by the way). Everybody at Metin is very friendly and the swimming pool area is very nice. In general enough sunbeds and parasols. Unfortunatley some people put their towels down in the morning and then you don't see them all day. This is done eventhough there are signs asking people not to reserve beds. Obviously you can't blame this on the people from the Metin hotel. They don't like this either. I would definately recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Metin is just ideal as is situated just far away from street noise with a 1 Minuit walk from the front door to all the life you need.
Very friendly staff and because it is a small hotel we found that other guests actually chat away to you without inhibition.
The area is the best I have been to in Turkey and with the added bonus of only being 1/2 hour away from the airport.
I would highly recommend a stay at this hotel as it is kept immaculate all the time and the pool is great with 2 wee pools for the toddlers.We will be back!
Don't expect there to be entertainment for the kids as we only found you get that in the big resorts with the kids clubs but there are 2 play parks within a very short distance from the hotel to keep them busy

The Littles

Room Tip: Try to book direct with the hotel to get a pool view with balcony but if that does not bother you th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have just returned after spending 14 days at the Metin, We arrived very early in the morning and must admit that the accommodation looked very dated. In the morning with the sunshine it totally transformed the place. Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace with views of the Tombs which was lovely. There is a Poolbar which served drinks and snacks and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The pool was lovely with plenty of sunbeds but could do with more parasols. The rooms were cleaned every day with fresh towels and linen every other day We were staying bed and breakfast but attended a barbeque one evening. The food served was amazing and there was also entertainment in the form of Belly Dancers and tradional dancers.

The river was just a few minutes walk with lots of boats offering trips. The beach is a 35 minute boat trip away. We ate in a different restaurants most evenings and can reccommend the Hidden Garden and the White Lotus. After dinner we would have a delicious coffee at the lovely Cafe Latika .

We went on three boat trips the first being the Lady Selyma which sailed round twelve islands stopping for swimming and serving a lovely lunch. There were only 20 people in total which made it very luxurious. The next trip was the Dalyan Discovery tour which took us to the Mud Baths were we enjoyed a lovely roses scented mud bath. On this trip we also went to the beach and saw turtles after having another lovely lunch. The final trip on a river boat was one of the best as we went to Turtle beach, swam in hot springs, fished for blue crabs which the captain barbecued to perfection. Unfortunately I don't remember the Captain's name.

Overall this was by far the nicest holiday we have had and can't wait to return next year. We found the people of Dalyan to be exceptionally friendly without intruding and have reccommended Dalyan to everyone we know

.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the pool at the end of the block on a corner which had a window on the sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back from a 10 day stay at the Metin. The hotel was much as we expected from the reviews and the research that we had done; clean, family run and basic. The rooms were a good size with a perfectly adequate bathroom.

Our room had a view of the tombs, at first we were disappointed that we didn't overlook the pool, but the tombs provided a beautiful backdrop for the time that we spent on the balcony. We arrived late at night, but the check in desk was still open; we weren't given a particularly warm welcome (perhaps due to our late arrival) and were shown to our room (B204). We paid for the safe (£1 A day) and Air Con (£4 a day).

The bed was average, we made it comfier by using one of the blankets in the room (not sure when it would ever be cold enough to actually use this!). Breakfast is served between 8 and 10 am, on the top of 'C' block, on a terrace. There was a wide selection of cheese and egg products and on seemingly random days different potato based dishes and cakes appeared. There are tea and coffee facilities, juice, fresh fruit and cereal. It provided a good start to the day, but after a week it got a bit samey.

The pool was adequate. A bit too deep to be honest. It is about 1.4m or deeper the entire way round, meaning that I struggled to stand in the majority of the pool. It also got very busy towards the end of our stay, with sunbeds being reserved very early. I think it would get overcrowded very easily in peak season. We didn't eat at the pool bar as we were being careful with money, but had a few drinks and ice creams there which were reasonably priced.

There is an odd charge card system which doesn't really make much sense. At first it appears, that you can pre load the card with money and then use it as you would a debit card, this is not the case, you just have to have the card scanned and then settle the bill at reception, it seems to be a bit of a pointless exercise.

Our room was cleaned most days during our stay.On a few days, we could stand the lunchtime sun, and took a break around 1pm. On these occasions, the cleaner knocked on our door a number of times; we answered and tried to explain we were taking a break in the room. She didn't seem to understand ,and also didn't seem to be able to come back later in the day, which meant our room was not cleaned at all on at least 3 days. Our bed sheets didn't appear to be changed at all during our stay.

The reception desk were helpful when we needed them, but we did not have many issues and therefore did not have much contact.

The hotel is in a great location. Really close to a lot of restaurants and bars. Its also a 7 minute walk from the river, where a lot of the trips run from.

There is also a supermarket, if you go out of the back entrance of the Metin where you can buy food, beer and water much cheaper than in any surrounding shop. Go here instead of the one on the main strip.

All in all the Hotel Metin is a perfectly reasonable choice for a holiday. It is very family oriented, and as a young couple we felt slightly out of place. There were a lot of children and older couples. This is not a criticism or a negative point, just something to be aware of. A solid 3 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Stayed at the Metin several times. The staff are very helpful.the rooms are cleaned every day and its central location makes it a good base for your holiday!. The pool bar do lunchtime snacks at reasonable prices, I will be staying again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
onur123
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

my wife and I have been visiting the Metin for the last 14 years and as for it,s ideal location in the village center it is still quiet ,the rooms are always very clean and tidy and the family run hotel is run like a well oiled machine with people who are very good at what they do,.boat trips can be organised by them also .so if you fancy gorgeous Dalyan choose the metin

Room Tip: any room overlooking the lovely pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Metin Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metin Hotel

Address: Maras Mah. Sulungur Cad. No:6, Dalyan 48840, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Aegean Coast > Mugla Province > Dalyan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Dalyan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Metin Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run hotel in a perfect location. Minutes from the river and the village, tucked away in a side street. Breakfast terrace has views of the rock tombs. 45 rooms and 4 self catering apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Metin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metin Hotel Dalyan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metin Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.